Sign Up Now - Min Klubb MIN KLUBB ()
Need help? Call us: +39 041 5246742
Choose language

Vandrerhjem review: Santos Express Train Lodge, Mossel Bay - our customers' opinion on Santos Express Train Lodge

Loading map...

Santos Express Train Lodge Vandrerhjem i Mossel Bay

Santos Express Train Lodge 

Kategori: Vandrerhjem

Adresse: Santos Beach - Mossel Bay, Sør Afrika

Starting from: 9.19 EUR

(indicative price per person, per night)

Kundenes vurdering

91% 91%

BESTILLE

SISTE BEDØMMELSER FOR DETTE VANDRERHJEM

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Very nice place and the location is great.

We traveled with my sisters in August so, winter and there was no heat. It was very cold in the dormatory so, take a jacket.

The view is great, everywhere in the train, you have the beach view!

Mathilde, France - Sep 13, 2017

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

We've enjoyed our stay. Will surely visit you again.

Anonymous, South africa - Apr 03, 2017

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

We absolutely loved this stay!! so very unique and the location is wonderful.

We stayed in a suite & it was a great value. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Don't miss an opportunity to stay someplace really funky & cool

Tracy , Usa - Mar 11, 2017

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
94% 94% 100% 100% 70% 70% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

A very pleasant stay in this unusual accommodation. The female waiting staff in the restaurant needs to learn to smile.

Anonymous, England - Jan 20, 2017

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
88% 88% 90% 90% 70% 70% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Der Empfang war gut und professionell. Das Personal im angeschlossenen Restaurant war unmotiviert und teilweise unfreundlich. Trotzdem ist die Übernachtung eine Empfehlung wert aufgrund der Lage und dem Ambiente in den 1. Klasse-Abteilen. Der Schlafsaal wurde nicht bewertet!

Anonymous, Germany - Dec 25, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
82% 82% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 60% 60% 60% 70%

This is worth a stay for the novelty value, but the backpackers' dorm isn't such good value. It's clean and comfy, but you don't get access to a kitchen like most backpackers' and there is only one toilet and shower to the whole dorm carriage. There's free wi-fi, but only near the reception.

Mark, England - Dec 24, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Wir waren im royl- Abteil. Einfach spitze!!!!!!!! Alles hat gepasst! SEHR empfehlenswert.

Knut, Germany - Nov 05, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
96% 96% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90%

I highly recommend Santos Express for a unique accommodation experience. We stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite" aka the Caboose, and it was cosy and comfortable. The view and location are definitely worth the stay. I suggest though that during winter, more blankets are provided because the compartments are not insulated and it gets extremely cold inside.

Nicola, South africa - Aug 18, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Keep it up Girls, You are the window and the flowers of the Company

My personal opinion is; If it was not for your Staff the Santos Express Train Lodge would not as nice as it was

Excellent Girls Excellent

Hats of to You

Sydney, South africa - May 30, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Fabulous hostel. We stayed in the dorm...we actually have stayed here twice because we loved it so much. Very clean, excellent location, and fair prices at the restaurant. Some things to note for travelers: wifi is only in the reception/restaurant. Also, charging stations in the dorm are extremely limited, so be sure to bring your own surge protector with additional outlets if possible.

Anonymous, Usa - May 04, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
98% 98% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Only two bathrooms per carriage isn't ideal

Grant, South africa - Apr 27, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
96% 96% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

die online Bezahlung könnte nachvollziehbarer gemacht werden

Roger, Germany - Apr 25, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
98% 98% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 100%

It was a great expierience ..was my first time...but not my last..

Zelda, South africa - Apr 12, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
70% 70% 90% 90% 80% 80% 100% 100% 30% 30% 30% 50%

The rates in Coast-to-Coast were R320, but we were charged R460! In my opinion the 2-berth compartment is overpriced.

Ken, South africa - Apr 11, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
84% 84% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 70% 70% 70% 80%

Due to an issue with the mobile website we arrived to find that only a single booking had been made. However, as the room showed two beds, we could only book by number of rooms and there were two of us we thought selecting "1" was the correct thing to do. On arrival we were given a very large sum of money that we'd have to pay to both use the room, we showed them the mobile site and they too could see the issue was booking with hostel club and fortunately resolved it for us so we could stay with no further payment. We'd recommend the hostel and the staff were very patient with us. However, I would not recommend booking through hostel club until the issues are resolved.

Anthony, England - Apr 09, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
92% 92% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 80%

The Santos Express Train Lodge is an interesting place to spend an evening in Mossel Bay, South Africa. The WiFi did not reach into the train cars and was only available around the restaurant's immediate area. Even there, the signal was weak and inconsistent. The train cars are quite cramped and spending more than one day would've been an issue. The location cannot be beat as it's right on the beach. Breakfast was quite nice with a good selection of fruit and cereals.

Anonymous, Canada - Apr 07, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Guys, I can't rate your place highly enough & just wished we could have stayed longer. We will hopefully visit again one day but it's a bit of a trek from Scotland.

Take care and keep up the great work.

Bill MacLeod.

William, Scotland - Apr 06, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Great place to stay - the bunks slope a bit

Melanie, Australia - Apr 06, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Thank you for the great stay and awesome service. It was really nice staying there and will be for sure booked in there again for my next holiday

Cornelius johannes, South africa - Apr 01, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 90%

It was the novelty of staying in a stationed train which brought me to The Santos Express. The view from the window was amazing and the sound of the ocean was lovely. I found the bed to be somewhat uncomfortable, but for 1 night it was okay. The staff were very kind, helpful and friendly to me with my numerous questions.

Alicia, South africa - Mar 30, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Estuvimos una noche en la honey moon room, ya que estabamos viajando con un niño pequeño y necesitabamos un poco de más de espacio. La habitacion era muy amplia y disponia de baño y nevera. El restaurante ofrece platos muy variados y a precios muy razonables.

Lorena, Spain - Mar 29, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
98% 98% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 100%

Sehr schöne, romantische Übernachtungsmöglichkeit in sicherer Umgebung. Kommen immer wieder gern hier hin zurück.

Kurt, Germany - Mar 29, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
42% 42% 40% 40% 50% 50% 100% 100% 10% 10% 10% 10%

I will never go there again I was under the impression that its a revamped train not knowing its still the original train with those mattress that they used in the olden days which were very very uncomfortable, no even a carpet in front of the beds as it is very sandy, the carpet in the passage was wet and smelly, one of the rooms the blinds kept falling, the worst of all the doors are VERY noisy when you close esp the main doors they could have had rubber seals around the doors to keep noise level down I'm a light sleeper I couldn't sleep until everyone was asleep I actually wanted to checkout the next day. I must say the holiday was a nightmare, the service at the restaurant was also below standard. I was not happy at all. They could do much renovations in that train its a interesting idea but no good job is done at all in the rooms that we occupied even the kids were so not impressed!

Nobabini, South africa - Mar 27, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 90% 90% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Everything was nearly perfect. Clean rooms, pub and good restaurant on premises.Only the lights did not function in my comparment, which I only told the staff the next morning, as it did not bother too much. You only sleep in these small rooms. But excellent value for money!

Dirk, Germany - Mar 26, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Ein schöner Platz am Strand.

Dietrich, Germany - Mar 25, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
48% 48% 30% 30% 50% 50% 90% 90% 50% 50% 50% 20%

Well, the only nice thing about santos is the location. I used the toilets in resturants because of the terrible state and stench of the Santos toilets, didn't even attempt to use the showers there. I really would not stay there ever again, it was not a pleasant experience

Anonymous, South africa - Mar 15, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Perfect situation. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the restaurant also serves a good meal at realistic prices! i have been praising the lodge to all my friends as accommodation is also reasonable. Keep it up!

Patricia, South africa - Mar 07, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 70% 70% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Great place to be! highly recommended only in the restaurant they hardly noticed us, though not very busy we had to wait quite a while. but the accommodation was superb!!

Gerjanne, Netherlands - Mar 01, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
98% 98% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Fantastic place, for two ageing rockers it was a great experience

Philip, England - Feb 16, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
96% 96% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

To sleep "on" beach with sound of sea in ears is fantastic. Great value for money.

Not sure if all couches have sea view because of trees.

Pieter, South africa - Feb 15, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 100%

We stayed in the luxury compartment and found it very pleasant. Unfortunately we had some rain during our stay and use of our tears was very limited!

Kurt, Switzerland - Feb 07, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Had a pleasant stay, thank you. The sound of the beach through the night was the high-light.

All was very good

Kind regards

Ellana-Ann Bates and Alix Wilson

Ellana-ann, South africa - Feb 04, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

I, sadly, wasn't able to review this hostel as I had to cancel my trip and there seems to be no clear way to cancel my bookings with hostel world.

Pamela, Canada - Jan 30, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Nice and friendly staff. Nice play to stay, next to te beach.

Simon, Netherlands - Jan 30, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
96% 96% 100% 100% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

It is always one of our favorite stop overs, however great place the restaurant does not deliver a good impression, the breakfast was not up to standard and it is quite dirty, not the same standard as our favorite coach, I think that is a area to improve, it is also the result for the 80 in the staff column.

Justus, South korea - Jan 27, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Everything was great, Thanks for everything ;-)

Anonymous, Germany - Jan 23, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

We enjoyed our stay very much and will most certainly make another booking in the future at Santos Express.

The only problem was not enough staff to service tables and we waited very long to be serviced and waited very long for our orders to be delivered at our table.

Thank you for the friendly staff.

Ronel, South africa - Jan 15, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 70% 70% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 100%

Excellent ! I loved it ! I recommend you the royal suite to really feel comfortable

Lyouta, France - Jan 11, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Slept in the royal ladies coach, the loveliest Place to sleep in earth !

Ursula, England - Jan 10, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
96% 96% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

It would be great if there would be few more possibilities to chill in the eventing with a good cold cocktail on the deck or at the beach and simply enjoy the view until darkness..

Anonymous, Germany - Jan 09, 2016

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
54% 54% 50% 50% 20% 20% 100% 100% 60% 60% 60% 40%

The fact that a clear request to have minor children accommodated in a coach next door to parents is unacceptable. The request was made weeks ahead not at short notice. The attitude of staff to assist in any way was non existent. There was no indication that there are no bath towels available. Showers stink of urine. Only one access door to grass area open far from where one is accommodated not great. No dedicated parking for overnight guests very inconvenient when arriving with a car and trailer and luggage

Johann, South africa - Dec 21, 2015

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
86% 86% 90% 90% 80% 80% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Obviously it is what it is,very basic however just found it very noisy at night with people in and out and not much consideration for other guests.

Mark, South africa - Dec 11, 2015

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 70% 70% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Enjoyed the stay there with my family.

Thank you Santos Express.

Lindsay, South africa - Dec 08, 2015

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100%

Härligt ställe att vara på vi bodde i en av royal suite med egen balkong/ uteplats. Direkt mot havet återkommer gärna hit igen

Anonymous, Sweden - Nov 30, 2015

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Royal Suite Schlafwagen top!

Sabine, Germany - Nov 21, 2015

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
98% 98% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Stayed in Royal Suite. Lovely furnishings

lovely view, excellent shower. Good experience

Gillian, England - Nov 19, 2015

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
92% 92% 60% 60% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Spettacolare!

Anonymous, Italy - Nov 12, 2015

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
70% 70% 70% 70% 70% 70% 100% 100% 60% 60% 60% 50%

Great locating in the train next to a beautiful beach. But they have some difficulties with the toilet flush and no tab water for some time. wifi is crap.

Anonymous, Germany - Nov 12, 2015

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

perfect stay!!!

Evelyn, Germany - Nov 04, 2015

total vurdering renslighet personale stilling value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Der Santos Train ist eine Unterkunft der besonderen Art! In ehemaligen Schlafwagen der südafrikanischen Eisenbahn gibt es Zimmer der verschiedenen Kategorien. Von Dorm bis zur Honeymoon Suite ist alles dabei.

Einfach schön und super Lage am samtweichen Strand!

Marion, Germany - Nov 03, 2015

Hostels
Tours

ARE YOU AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT? Join our exclusive free discount program! Pay less, travel longer and party more! Check out your student deals! Tell me more » Check all Erasmus deals now! »

Free nights in Venice!

It's true! No joke, no game, no lottery - HostelsClub is giving away free nights and weekends in Venice.

Book at least 5 nights in any destination, and get a voucher for a free night accommodation for two in Venice!

Or enjoy a free weekend in Venice, as our loyal customer, by making five bookings (at least 2 nights each) with HostelsClub!

> les mer

bestilling i grupper

Travelling in a group? Click on the link below to get the list of hostels that accept reservations for 10 or more guests.

> les mer

Mossel Bay Vandrerhjem

Don't miss our offers!

Register your email to receive our monthly newsletter with discounts, special offers and competitions!