Sign Up Now - My Club MY CLUB ()
Need help? Call us: +39 041 5246742
Choose language

Funny Hostel Palace reviews - our customers' opinion on Funny Hostel Palace Hostel, Rome

Loading map...

Funny Hostel Palace Hostel in Rome

Funny Hostel Palace 

Category: Hostel

Address: via Varese 33/31 - Rome, Italy

Starting from: 37.50 EUR

(indicative price per person, per night)

15% discount for HostelsClub.com Membership Card holders (2 nights minimum)

Customer rating

91% 91%

BOOK

LATEST REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Great place, definitely recommend it.

Anonymous, India - Jul 26, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
48% 48% 70% 70% 40% 40% 70% 70% 50% 50% 50% 10%

While I stayed here I had a book and a small pouch with a few pieces of inexpensive jewellery stolen from my bag. Funny that these were the things taken and not my expensive sunglasses??? I emailed the hostel and have yet to receive a single reply. The staff were friendly upon arrival but I would NEVER EVER recommend staying here.

Anonymous, Usa - May 19, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Awesome place to stay.

Owner is super chill and will give you a lot of information on where you can or should go.

I'd definitely stay again.

If you're from a small town like me, finding the place to check in is a little weird, but you'll always remember where to go.

Rio, Usa - Dec 13, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90%

The amenities are great especially the wifi andvthe non bunk beds they provide. Also the location is very near the central station so it's a stone's throw away from everything.

Mart cyrel, Philippines - Oct 06, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
70% 70% 90% 90% 80% 80% 70% 70% 70% 70% 70% 40%

I moved to another hostel for two big reasons. 1. It was a boring place with no atmosphere. There wasn't even a couch to sit on, just a desk in the hallway that blocked the hall when sitting in it, oryour bed, which brings me to 2. The bed is so uuncomfortable! There's a rod right down the middle so you can really only use half the bed. It would also be nice if they had female dorms, or at least a way to socialize. I only met the two men in my dorm room (even though I booked a five bed dorm specifically for better socialization).

On the upside, it was nice to have breakfast, and the rooms were spacious. Even though the neighborhood wasn't great, it was close to the train station and necessary stores.

Jessica, Usa - Sep 10, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
54% 54% 70% 70% 80% 80% 60% 60% 30% 30% 30% 30%

There is no A/C in these dorm rooms, so the summers are literally impossible to sleep in. For the price, the only good thing I can say is that the staff were really helpful in telling us what there is to do and how we can get there. The only truly secure thing is that there are small lockboxes in the rooms. Otherwise if someone leaves your door unlocked anyone get in there.

Trevor, Usa - Jul 21, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 80%

It is a good and decent place. Nonetheless, it is not a Hostel. After doing checking in the loundry store you will be shown to one of several appartments in different buildings close by. My appartment had no common area, but three rooms with 3 + beds. It was nice with a good value for money. But meeting people or hanging out was basically impossible. Whether I would recommend it? It depends on what you're looking for.

Anonymous, Germany - Jul 07, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Awesome hostel, nice and clean rooms, nice and really helpfull staff and the location near the train station near the busses, taxi's and metro is great. Really not a single negative thing a could think about during my stay. Had a great time!

Stijn, Netherlands - Feb 21, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
66% 66% 90% 90% 20% 20% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 70%

Good price and clean. Breakfast is good too. But the bathroom and toilet are only one for a floor, and one staff was a little strange. He made a mistake in my payment and at first demand more payment.

Anonymous, Japan - Feb 11, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 70%

There wasn't much space to put your valuables, only in a small safe, which only 1/3 worked. There were large cupboards in the wall which seemed like would be great for locking your stuff up, but I am not sure what was in there as it was not accessible.

Anna, New zealand - Nov 06, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

This place is the best hostel I have been in for service and helpfulness of staff. The crew are fantastic! Recommended sights, showed us where to book online to save hours on queues. Location is five minutes from Termini train/bus station. Lots of local restaurants. Everything is in walking distance although the bus / metro is 5 min away anyway. Room is safe, big, comfortable bed, great shower, quiet. Has safe box for personal items, and air con. Cannot recommend this place highly enough! Thanks for a fantastic stay.

Nicola, New zealand - Sep 24, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Awesome, awesome, awesome. It only lacks a refrigerator. Really great stay.

Gabriel, Brazil - Aug 14, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Definitely recommend!! We were not sure what to expect and were pleasantly suprised. Very clean, air con in our room, lovely staff. When checking in we were given a map and shown were the attractions were, how to get there, which bus and prices etc and also a bottle of wine. We were also given breakfast vouchers for a lovely coffee shop on the next street, bar spinelli, which was brilliant, great croissants and cappuccinos!! The hostel in a five minute walk from the train station, so very central. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Jade, England - Jul 27, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
72% 72% 80% 80% 80% 80% 70% 70% 70% 70% 70% 60%

This hostel was different than I had expected. You stay in an apartment complex in a basic bed room. The staff was helpful in finding good places to see and eat. The facilities were satisfactory and the location in reference to the train station was nice (although a little ways away from the attractions). All in all I was pleased with my stay.

Anonymous, Usa - Jul 25, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

It is a great hostel to stay in Rome. It's like hotel but share bedroom and restroom. It's a little noisy from the vehicles outside because but not too bad. However, there is no space to hang out and meet other travelers and no kitchen. The owner is great and his staff are just ok. The room is clean but the water in the shower room is too cold. I was freezing while taking a shower. The hot tap didn't work properly. I like warm shower. Anyway, it is a good place to stay considering its location. From the hostel you can walk to most tourist attractions in Rome. The hostel is a few minutes walk from the main train station, Roma Termini and bus station. There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Enjoy your holidays in Rome.

Mai from Laos

Phitsamay, Laos - Jul 06, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Nice place, nice people! I'll come back!

Anonymous, Germany - Jul 05, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

This was my first experience in a hostel and a very good one. Although I wasn't expecting all the stairs the location was great and the room was spacious and clean. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Heather, Canada - Jun 12, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 100%

Great place. Nice and relaxed compared To crazy hostels.

Anonymous, New zealand - May 21, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

This hostel was great! It was clean, friendly, and only a few blocks from Termini. The hostel staff not only recommended places to visit, but plotted them on a map along with route recommendations to beat the crowds. I would 100% recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Rome!

Anonymous, Usa - Apr 02, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

BEST HOSTEL I'VE EVER BEEN TO!!!!

Anonymous, Germany - Mar 25, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Central hostel, it´s quiet and clean, very nice staff, we had a great stay in Rome!

Anonymous, Germany - Feb 16, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 70% 70% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 80%

it was a bit weird to check in in the laundry/internet cafe, but then they take you to another building. but the hostel was ok, the bad thing is that there's only one bathroom for a lot of people, so it was busy all the time..

Anonymous, Brazil - Feb 09, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Near to public transportation, clean and the personnel is very kind and efficient. A little bit noisy if you neighbors talk laud but not a problem at all. Quality / price really good, i would be there again.

Jean louis, Italy - Jan 14, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 80%

It was a lovely place to sleep, the neighbours were silent and beds were fine, but WC flush system needs some attention

Anonymous, Lithuania - Dec 13, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Rooms are so comfortable, staff is too friendly and halpful. Recommended!

Nurtac, Turkey - Dec 07, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
62% 62% 90% 90% 50% 50% 80% 80% 50% 50% 50% 40%

Clean, well made rooms with good proper beds, like a low cost hotel. However it's a lonely place. no common area, no kitchen, nowhere to meet anyone. rubbish tiny breakfast in a bar rough the corner. and one single use bathroom for 15 people. I didn't like it, even though from talking to other travellers it seems to be pretty much the best of a bad range of hostelling options in Rome. There's really room for something better in that city!

William, England - Oct 24, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Very clean hostel, excellent location the staff was really helpful they helped me to plan my own itinerary in Rome according to my needs. Free wine was a very enjoyable surprise

Krissia , Costa rica - Oct 17, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 80% 80% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100%

This was a very enjoyable place to stay in Rome! Mabri and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed in the private room and it was more like a hotel room. Spacious and clean, very nice for the price and what we were expecting. Our experience here was much much better than the one from the previous night at the Yellow just down the road. Highly recommended for budget travelers as this was a great experience!

Anonymous, Usa - Oct 12, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Loved the staff, they allowed us to print for free and were very patient in showing Where to go in Rome. The cappuccino for the breakfast ticket is amazing. The side near the check in is nicer than the rooms down the street especially the common area. At first u miss the funny palace b

Brittany, Usa - Sep 30, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Great location and clean room.

Kuan yu, Taiwan - Sep 16, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 100% 100% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

It's a really clean place and they treat you really well, but if you look to meet people for party, this is not the hostel to stay, it's more the hostel to rest and relax. The staff is great, they helped me a lot and a big plus, they give you a bottle of wine when you check -in.

Location is great, it's only 5 minutes walk from Termini and the place they recommend to eat (Andrea) is great!!!

Cesar daniel, Mexico - Sep 14, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Lovely place to stay close to the main station a little hard to find but the room is clean and big.

Anonymous, England - Aug 02, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
84% 84% 90% 90% 70% 70% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 90%

so good

Jian hao, Canada - Jun 27, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 70% 70% 90% 90% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 100%

Everything was like advertised and as other reviews reported.

They gave us a bottle of red wine, and it was really good!

Gabriele, Italy - Jun 08, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
12% 12% 20% 20% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Isnt a good hostel. Never give to them your credit card number or they will stole your money. This is serious!

Diego roberto, Brazil - Nov 19, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

the staff are really nice and helpful! the hostel is located right near termini which was great! and the rooms were nice and fairly spacious!

Jacqueline, Australia - Jul 28, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 90% 90% 90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

The hostel is pretty nice and clean.

The only backdraw is the hot water. Sometimes, you must let the water run for 2-5 minutes to make the hot water running.

Johan, Usa - Nov 12, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Very clean place and nice staffs. I would definitely stay here again if I ever go back to Rome.

I had a good time thanks to Funny Palace :)

Minami, Japan - Sep 03, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Nice hostel, gentile staff, good location

Flavio, Switzerland - Apr 12, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Really really great location. walking distance to attractions, 2 mins to main bus, train and metro terminals by walking. The staff are super nice and helpful. i recommend this hostel.

Juliana, Brazil - Dec 20, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

had very good time, very helpful staff

Mami, Japan - Oct 14, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

had a great time, very nice rooms

Sinead, Wales - Sep 29, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

how a great place, amazing rooms.

I.g.b., Netherlands - Sep 15, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Great place ..clean room .. International environment

Fabio, Italy - Aug 15, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Wonderful staff and people :)

Ronnie, Denmark - Jul 05, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

THIS PLACE IS VERY REALLY GREAT, VERY CLOSE TO ALL MAIN IMPORTANT SITE, GREAT STAFF

Tobias, Sweden - May 28, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Great Hostel, very clean, the location is excellent also. Staff very helpful.

Stephanie, Ireland - May 19, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

This place has a great central location and the staff are all very accomodating and helpful. I would definately reccomend

Fazlin, Malaysia - May 03, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

very good place, nice sleep

Xu, China - Apr 29, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

The location was perfect and the place was incredibly clean and also the staff was very helpful and they even gave us a free bottle of wine for staying there.

Tim, England - Apr 27, 2009

Hostels
Tours

ARE YOU AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT? Join our exclusive free discount program! Pay less, travel longer and party more! Tell me more » Check all Erasmus deals now! »

Free nights in Venice!

It's true! No joke, no game, no lottery - HostelsClub is giving away free nights and weekends in Venice.

Book at least 5 nights in any destination, and get a voucher for a free night accommodation for two in Venice!

Or enjoy a free weekend in Venice, as our loyal customer, by making five bookings (at least 2 nights each) with HostelsClub!

> read more

group booking special offers

Travelling in a group? Click on the link below to get the list of hostels that accept reservations for 10 or more guests. Use the search form to check availability and book online. If you like, feel free to contact us at groups@hostelsclub.com, we will help you find the best offer for your group.

> read more

Don't miss our offers!

Register your email to receive our monthly newsletter with discounts, special offers and competitions!