Sign Up Now - My Club MY CLUB ()
Need help? Call us: +39 041 5246742
Choose language

YHA Ostello di FIRENZE Villa Camerata reviews - our customers' opinion on YHA Ostello di FIRENZE Villa Camerata Hostel, Florence

Loading map...

YHA Ostello di FIRENZE Villa Camerata Hostel in Florence

YHA Ostello di FIRENZE Villa Camerata 

Category: Hostel

Address: Viale Augusto Righi 4 - Florence, Italy

Starting from: 13.50 EUR

(indicative price per person, per night)

Customer rating

73% 73%

BOOK

LATEST REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
74% 74% 80% 80% 60% 60% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 70%

Different atmosphere from usual hostel. Did not see many actual tourist there. Good connection from train station. need to revise the check in policy. reached the hostel at 900am made to wait till 0200pm. Wasted a whole valuable day. Reception Staff very unhelpful

Anonymous, India - Jul 09, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Great

Zoran, Austria - Apr 29, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%

this is a refugee camp and with very poor services. u have to lay your own bed. terrible breakfast services too. i feel i've been duped or extorted. won't recommend it to anyone. it's far from the city centre too

Anonymous, Senegal - Apr 24, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
14% 14% 30% 30% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Very strange location- far away from city center. The staff seemed like they didn't want to help and the entire place felt very unsafe and I comfortable. Would not recommend.

Anonymous, Usa - Apr 13, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
26% 26% 40% 40% 60% 60% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Its far away from the center and a refugee for africans. Not recomended for turists. I lasted 20 minutes there and payed for both nights. I hope you refund me both nights. Thank you

Anonymous, Guatemala - Jan 02, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Nice place! It´s worth to stay...

Anonymous, Brazil - Oct 22, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
50% 50% 60% 60% 60% 60% 40% 40% 40% 40% 40% 50%

very sparse breakfast, mattress was very old, quite clean, showers are good

Anonymous, Germany - Sep 15, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
32% 32% 60% 60% 70% 70% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%

The hostel of a thousand mosquito bites. In addition to the rugby match and girl-getting-slapped-around party (that's what it sounded like) that was happening outside our window at 2 in the morning, we couldn't close the window because of the heat. I had 24 mosquito bites just on my arms shoulders and face, I didn't count how many on my legs and torso. I booked for 3 nights but only stayed for one, moved to a place in the city with a fan and a door that I wouldn't get locked out of by my roommates.

Anonymous, Usa - Jul 24, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
44% 44% 50% 50% 10% 10% 10% 10% 100% 100% 100% 50%

This hostel is quite far from the city, personal are not friendly at all. If you don't want to be kind with customers change your job !

Don't feel so safe !

Anonymous, France - Jun 15, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Nice place but it would be nicer if some flexibility from the staff at night could be in better performance. Better cleaning in the bathroom would be nicer as well.

Breakfest ok. Beautiful place. Day staff nice.

Anonymous, Brazil - May 17, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
62% 62% 60% 60% 80% 80% 40% 40% 70% 70% 70% 60%

Lights in bathroom broken, very expensive laundry, very far from city center, but okay for the price.

Anonymous, Usa - Oct 18, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
38% 38% 30% 30% 30% 30% 70% 70% 30% 30% 30% 30%

We do not feel welcome in this chaotic hostel. It wasn't clean, there were no lockers for luggage. Staff wasn's friendly.

Anonymous, Germany - Oct 14, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
72% 72% 60% 60% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 70%

Not a bad place to stay but very busy so can be noisy snd the toilets dirty. The kitchen and cleaning staff are lovely, the reception staff more or less. There is no way to lock the store cupboards in the rooms. Location fine.

Anonymous, England - Oct 11, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

AWSOME PLACE!!

Karen, South africa - Oct 03, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 70% 70% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

It was a hostel as expected but it was in an amazing location. Not far from the city centre, perfect connection with the bus. The rooms were basic but clean, with clean bedding and a clean bathroom. The breakfast was very Italian but that's what it is like when you are on a trip in Italy. We really enjoyed it!

Anonymous, Germany - Sep 28, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
16% 16% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 40% 40% 40% 10%

Got bed bugs from the hostel. Terrible location unfriendly staff and no working Internet connection.

Jacquelyn, Usa - Sep 09, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 100% 100% 100% 100% 70% 70% 90% 90% 90% 100%

A nice hostel in a really great building! Its location a bit far away from the center is actually an advantage: you can rest in calmness after doing a whole day of sightseeing! Another benefit of staying there is breakfasts that are included in the price :)

Artem, Russia - Aug 25, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
38% 38% 40% 40% 40% 40% 20% 20% 70% 70% 70% 20%

Very old structure, lots of molds

Only good point: the beautiful garden where to have breakfast and relax in the shade

Anonymous, Italy - Aug 03, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

i liked it because was in the nature (with trees and birds), the people were friendly and nice also at reception desk. Room cleaned and also very cheap. Grazi. I enjoied

Leonardo, Italy - Jul 27, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
50% 50% 70% 70% 40% 40% 50% 50% 60% 60% 60% 30%

Just a very OK hostel, OK location, free breakfast which was kind of nice, worn down rooms and beds, not great staff, overall you could definitely do better in Firenze. But I wouldn't call the hostel bad. Just not good.

Anonymous, Usa - Jul 27, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
68% 68% 70% 70% 70% 70% 60% 60% 70% 70% 70% 70%

Really nice garden to relax. A great view from the window of the first floor romano

Anonymous, Italy - Jul 19, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
32% 32% 70% 70% 10% 10% 40% 40% 30% 30% 30% 10%

The lady at the concierge is a very rude. Beware.

Anonymous, Usa - Jul 14, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

I love the Authentic feature of the building and interiors. I felt like I stayed in a Museum rather than a hostel. I love the nature, the garden and forest. One drawback for me was the relentless mosquitoes that kept me awake at night. May be mosquito screen in the window would help?

Anonymous, Usa - Jun 30, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
94% 94% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

It was a good overall experience. Given its locale, it is probably best to book for more than a couple days rather than what I did (only one night), but I enjoyed my time there.

Anonymous, Usa - Jun 28, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%

disaster! they don't really want to have a hostel, nobody is sympathic in there.

Anonymous, Italy - Jan 04, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
70% 70% 50% 50% 90% 90% 60% 60% 80% 80% 80% 70%

Staff were friendly and happy to help us with anything. The location of the hostel was not optimal but 20 minutes on the bus to Santa Maria Novella is decent. On the other hand this offers a very nice view from the hill where the nice villa is located. The hostel is quite old and the doors slam very loud and the walls are quite thin so hope to have respectful neighbours or you may be waken up unpleasantly in the early hours of the morning. The bed linen was perfectly clean but the toilets were filthy and honestly quite disgusting. The price is one of the hostel's biggest strengths, just remember to add the tourist tax (1€) per a night and a mandatory membership card (2€) to the total. To achieve this price management had to cut somewhere and this is sometimes too obvious, but in the end you get what you pay for and for many that may be enough.

Christopher, Italy - Jan 03, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
24% 24% 30% 30% 20% 20% 10% 10% 50% 50% 50% 10%

Very bad location for travelors.

Staff are not helpful at all.

Not very clean

Chiu ue, China - Sep 20, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
46% 46% 100% 100% 10% 10% 40% 40% 70% 70% 70% 10%

Hostel was a little hard to find. The building itself is beautiful but I feel had not been maintained in a way befitting this. The staff were rude - at least two of then. The showers for campers need some tlc. We left after one night. I can see that it would be convenient for large bus / school groups but I would not recommend it.

Anonymous, England - Aug 26, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 90% 90% 100% 100% 60% 60% 90% 90% 90% 90%

The building and the surroundings are excellent; the distance from the centre of florence is inconvenient. The staff is very helpful and polite.

Anonymous, Cyprus - Jul 15, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 80% 80% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 100%

Great Place

Ana maria, Colombia - Oct 25, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
60% 60% 80% 80% 50% 50% 50% 50% 70% 70% 70% 50%

the driveway is very long and because it is badly damaged difficult to take luggage up; the office was not staffed at all the times they were supposed to be available; and mis-information was given regarding meals

Anonymous, Australia - Oct 21, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
84% 84% 80% 80% 100% 100% 60% 60% 100% 100% 100% 80%

Unfortunately there are in the restrooms (male) no pissoirs; that means that the toilets always full of piss. I would recommend to install some pissoirs; the advantage is a cleaner situation with less work by cleaning the restromms.

Uwe, Germany - Sep 02, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
84% 84% 90% 90% 100% 100% 60% 60% 80% 80% 80% 90%

The hostel was clean and friendly. It is reasonably priced for florence and breakfast was included, but quite expensive as far as hostels go. It is a bus journey out of florence, approx 20 mins, with a walk of about 10 mins up to the house.

Anonymous, England - Aug 19, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
70% 70% 60% 60% 60% 60% 80% 80% 70% 70% 70% 80%

I found toilets + showers not properly clean and the staff not extremely welcoming. Last year it was definitely better. Location remains beautiful though and I recommend it still!

Anna, Italy - Jul 29, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 70% 70% 70% 70% 90% 90% 90% 90%

The Hostel is about 200 meters into the property the villa lies on, therefore it is pretty quiet. To get into town there is a busline not far from it that takes about 25 minutes to the central station. Although the house is a villa, everything else is typical for a hostel. Unfortunately there is no baggage room and no possibility in the rooms to lock stuff up, but you can bring your stuff to the safe at the reception. The staff is not especially friendly but helpful. Breakfast consists of cereals, bread, butter, marmelade and (surprisingly bad) coffee, tea and orange juice. WiFi is for free, but during my stay it was down for two days.

Marike, Germany - Jul 28, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 100% 100% 100% 100% 50% 50% 100% 100% 100% 80%

The thing is: This place is great, but is realy far away from center of firenze, and when i got ther.. well, you have to walk 700mts UP to the place. The place is grat, but is realy hard to get there. IF YOU HAVA MANY BAGS , YOU HAVE TO TAKE A TAXI.

Rocio, Argentina - Jul 07, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 90% 90% 80% 80% 70% 70% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Nice area outside the city centre, big sanitary rooms and good standart breakfast.

Susanne, Germany - Jul 05, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100%

The hostel itself was very nice and I met so many great people. The staff was kind and breakfast was fresh- good service, food, and accommodation for the price. By bus, it is a quick ride to the center and they change your sheets every day. Bathrooms were very clean for a hostel

Annette, Usa - Jul 01, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 70% 70% 90% 90% 70% 70% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Very nice place, a little far from the center of Firenze, but buses take you there very easily. The hostel is gorgeous, the service is nice, the breakfast is delicious, I have nothing but good things to say about this hostel.

Herbreteau, France - Jun 30, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

I had stayed at this hostel in the early 90s.Love the peace and tranquility,a good cross between the buzz of city life and countryside atmosphere.

Can not find any faults.It provides visitors with washing facilities,a bar and food in the evenings.Most important,staff friendliness and helpfulness.

Being so near town and with good transport facilities,it appeals to both,town folk and count lovers.

Have been there twice and would not mind making it "thrice"given the opportunity.

Marco aurelio, Colombia - Jun 24, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 100% 100% 70% 70% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

The location is a little bit out of town, but its no problem to get into town by bus or even walking.

The building is beautiful, rooms are simple but clean.

The staff could have been more welcoming.

Only problem worth mentioning: I had a room on the ground floor towards the inner yard. At night this can be very (!) load, depending on other visitors sitting in the yard all night.

But I would stay there again, if I came back.

Benedikt, Germany - May 02, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
72% 72% 70% 70% 80% 80% 70% 70% 70% 70% 70% 70%

very charming place, maybe not directly in the proximity of the old town, but easy to reach. Rooms and bathroom clean, staff very helpful, breakfast simple but good. Park area around, very quiet in the morning, nice, nice, nice...

Thomas, Germany - Sep 03, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 100% 100% 90% 90% 60% 60% 80% 80% 80% 80%

In an old villa, with all services needed. Meals were very good. Lots of common areas.

Sound carries through halls and wings. A loud group is heard throughout building. They will rate the fun factor higher.

If I get to return to Florence, I will again stay here.

David, Usa - May 09, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
72% 72% 90% 90% 60% 60% 70% 70% 70% 70% 70% 70%

The hostel was within walking distance of the train station we left from the following morning, which was wonderful. I only wish we would have had more time at the hostel, as the grounds looked fun to explore.

Megan, Usa - Apr 09, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
60% 60% 60% 60% 90% 90% 30% 30% 60% 60% 60% 60%

in general: good.

Enrique, Spain - Jul 23, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 90% 90% 100% 100% 60% 60% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Yha ostello ia a gerar placê to be in . Altough being dar from the center it is worhy. Lota of backpacks gritos willing to enjoy the trop. And having fun

Bruno, Brazil - Jul 15, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 70% 70% 90% 90% 90% 90%

This is a beautiful hostel with nice small rooms (4 beds per room) that overlook a palace garden! Waking up in the morning here is great, and you get a good night's sleep too. The bathrooms are okay, not the best I've seen only because they feel like they lack a little privacy, but they are clean and functioning and spacious. Breakfast has tasty granola and a few options, so it's actually pretty nice. The major drawback is that not only is it outside the center, but you also have to walk up a long, poorly maintained road to get there, and with roller luggage this isn't very fun! But the bus that goes right to the center is very regular, and once you get your stuff into the hostel and out of it, the walk down that road is very pleasant. Even if there were other hostels available in Florence in the center, I might stay here because it was so nice and special being in such a beautiful palace.

Erin, Usa - May 13, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 90% 90% 70% 70% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80%

If you want to be surrounded by nature and have beautiful views (and don't mind traveling 20 mins to get to the city center) this place is amazing. It is a great place to relax and just enjoy nature at its best. The staff were a bit grumpy (maybe due to the constant large groups of students coming through) and I wouldn't recommend the food- go out and explore! But other than that, this is a lovely villa to stay in. There are campgrounds as well should you decide you want to go camping instead. :)

Joyna, Germany - Apr 29, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
60% 60% 80% 80% 50% 50% 50% 50% 60% 60% 60% 60%

Far, but beatyful. Most beauty hostel in wonerful location. I've spend two nights on my own in 8bed room /but its february/.

Clean, stuff so-so.

Dariusz, Poland - Feb 10, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 70% 70% 80% 80% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Located just outside the centre (10 min. by bus) the villa is excellent for all who want to relax after a day in firenze, the surroundings are quiet and it's only a 400 mtr walk to the nearest bus stop! Located near several supermarkets, bus ticket will cost you € 2,40,- to get to firenze and back! Rooms get cleaned every day but don't expect too much of that, it's just a quick sweep and emptying the trashcan. Showers/toilets are kept nice and clean and the staff is always very helpful. Food, drinks, WiFi (€ 2,50 per 12 hrs), bar (open till 11PM) and laundry service available (€ 3,- for a wash) everything you need is at hand and you can travel light if you want to. The only thing I missed was lockable lockers, a fan/airco, and maybe a shared fridge (as there is a microwave but nowhere to store your food) - and oh, don't forget to buy mosquito repellant! forget about bringing your own (unless you're from a really warm country as well), buy an electric vaporizer at the supermarket, works excellent!

Dachuan, Netherlands - Aug 24, 2010

Hostels
Tours

ARE YOU AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT? Join our exclusive free discount program! Pay less, travel longer and party more! Tell me more » Check all Erasmus deals now! »

Free nights in Venice!

It's true! No joke, no game, no lottery - HostelsClub is giving away free nights and weekends in Venice.

Book at least 5 nights in any destination, and get a voucher for a free night accommodation for two in Venice!

Or enjoy a free weekend in Venice, as our loyal customer, by making five bookings (at least 2 nights each) with HostelsClub!

> read more

group booking special offers

Travelling in a group? Click on the link below to get the list of hostels that accept reservations for 10 or more guests. Use the search form to check availability and book online. If you like, feel free to contact us at groups@hostelsclub.com, we will help you find the best offer for your group.

> read more

Don't miss our offers!

Register your email to receive our monthly newsletter with discounts, special offers and competitions!