Sign Up Now - My Club MY CLUB ()
Need help? Call us: +39 041 5246742
Choose language

YHA Ostello di ANCONA reviews - our customers' opinion on YHA Ostello di ANCONA Hostel, Ancona

Loading map...

YHA Ostello di ANCONA Hostel in Ancona

YHA Ostello di ANCONA 

Category: Hostel

Address: Via Lamaticci 7 - Ancona, Italy

Starting from: 16.00 EUR

(indicative price per person, per night)

10% discount for HostelsClub.com Membership Card holders

Customer rating

82% 82%

BOOK

LATEST REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL

[reviews in all languages]

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
42% 42% 70% 70% 20% 20% 100% 100% 10% 10% 10% 10%

no wifi. no lock custody. no breakfast. this place should change completly. i got no words. only cleaner make the job on that place.

Anonymous, Italy - Mar 24, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
60% 60% 50% 50% 50% 50% 70% 70% 70% 70% 70% 60%

Ok for a night.

Anonymous, Argentina - Aug 12, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Stayed here as it was close to train station and walking distance from Palaindoor. My first time ever in a hostel and pleasantly surprised. Rooms very clean, staff friendly and helpful, plenty space to prepare own food and sit down to eat. Very cheap too.

Claire, Scotland - Apr 04, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Everything perfect.

Haider ali, Pakistan - Sep 28, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
42% 42% 70% 70% 20% 20% 30% 30% 40% 40% 40% 50%

I would only recommend it if you like to be treated with disrespect, but pay low monetary costs.

Anonymous, Switzerland - Sep 18, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

I'll remember the hostel as a quiet and charming place with relaxing atmosphere and friendly people. Highly recommended:)

Anna, Poland - Aug 31, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 40% 40% 40% 70%

One of the least comfortable but also the cheapest hostel I've been. Old furniture often in poor condition, smelly fridge,female bathroom allowing no privacy. Check out before 10 everyday. However, confenient location. I stayed 4 days.

Anonymous, France - Aug 25, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

very friendly and easy going staff, great location next to the train station and within walking distance from the city centre, the atmosphere in the hostel was very relaxed and respectful, bathroom is quite spacy and was very clean, the rooms are well equipped, nice rooftop

short, the hostel is not very pretty but clean and you find everything you need!

Marisa, Switzerland - Jul 27, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 90%

The room was neat and confortable. I would have appreciate a courtesy towel as well to have a shower. Breakfast not included is fine.

Anonymous, Italy - Feb 18, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 90% 90% 100% 100% 50% 50% 100% 100% 100% 70%

Very friendly, family owned.

Conviently located near train station.

Very inexpensive.

My buddy left a watch and passport after checkout, returned 45 minutes later, right where he left it.

No place to lock personal belongings.

Did not feel that my items were safe.

Stuff in room (shirt, hat, dirty laundry), but no one there

About 20 minute walk to the reAl life of Ancona.

They lock door at 1am, so if you like to party, go elsewhere. Very nice family tho. VERY FAIR PRICE.

Ended up checking i to HOTEL MILANO which is closer to the real life of ancona.

Everyone in Ancona speaks english is some wAy or another. Very helpful, shy community.

LIFE STARTS AT PIAZZA A ROMA AT 10pm.

I will be back.

Hotel milano, 25 euro each for four people, atayed one night extra for 40 (solo).

Michael, Usa - Oct 24, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
84% 84% 80% 80% 90% 90% 100% 100% 70% 70% 70% 80%

Hello, I had to spend just one night in Ancona because I had to fly back home the following morning so it's been the perfection solution: cheap, only 5 minutes walking from the rail station and from the bus stop towards the airport. The staff was nice and the room was simple and clean. I recommend it if you want to stay few days

Margherita, Italy - Aug 26, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
62% 62% 90% 90% 10% 10% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 60%

The Most unfriendly staff i have Seen in a long, long Time. My Italien friends were shocked when they talked to the man at the reception. Also i have booked a 4-Person room but was placed in a 6 people room with the explenation that he (the man at the reception) doesnt See a difference. ... Well, good for him, but i Do See a difference.

Anonymous, Germany - Aug 17, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

A lovely surprise, this hostel was clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful.

Alexandrina, Australia - Jun 26, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Very handy to Ancona train station & to free buses to ferry port.Fantastic value for money. Spotlessly clean. Free WIFI. Friendly, helpful staff.

Lyn, Australia - May 17, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Its a good place to take a rest for the night before departing for the airport in Ancona. The wifi there is great and toilets are shared (3 showers in one toilet, only for males) That's a quick way to settle all your showering if you're travelling in big group of guys

Zhi ping, Singapore - Mar 30, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

The place is cool, but there are not much fun and the staff does not speak English.

Rodrigo, Brazil - Nov 09, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
48% 48% 50% 50% 50% 50% 40% 40% 50% 50% 50% 50%

Nobody speaks English, so if you don't know Italian you're going to have a bad time. Also, the hostel was pretty empty, if you're looking to meet new people, this is not the place.

Ana, Portugal - Sep 07, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
52% 52% 60% 60% 90% 90% 10% 10% 50% 50% 50% 50%

Расположение плосто УЖАС!!!!

да, конечно, от вокзала 2 минуты. но от центра Анконы уж слишком далеко!

и просто бесит их расписание когда можно приходить и уходить!!!

Nadezda, Russia - Aug 24, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

The surroundings does not look that safe, but it ie really close to the train station, and about the staff, the guy with grey hair in the afternoons and the blond girl in the morning, are really nice and helping people.

Hector, Mexico - Aug 06, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Managers very friendly, 200 meters from the station, recommended.

Mariapia, Italy - Nov 30, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
78% 78% 50% 50% 90% 90% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80%

this hostel is located just opposite to the station.easy access.it is closed from 11am to 4 pm for cleaning.cleanliness is so so.just we have to adjust.if you want you can remain inside.otherwise ask somebody to open.1st floor is for men much noicy, and 2nd floor for ladies is better.doors are not so safe.valuble things you can leave to the responsible while you are away fom the room.not included the breakfast.but kichen is avialble.we were 3 persons mother with two children of 16 yrs.we were there for recriutment.persons who are working there are very kind and helpful.specially who is there in the nights and the old lady,and Alessandro.for few days i wil suggest you.by.

Gnana sundari, Italy - Jul 23, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
48% 48% 40% 40% 40% 40% 60% 60% 50% 50% 50% 50%

A little confusing to find. Only thing to put your luggage in is a wardrobe that can't be locked. The man that was working in the arvo was fantastic. Very helpful.

Donna, Australia - Jul 17, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
68% 68% 40% 40% 80% 80% 80% 80% 70% 70% 70% 70%

easy to connect with trains buses towards centre.15 minites walking to marina militare.comfortable.small rooms,no security to things.no breakfast, hostel is closed from 11.00 to 16.00.

Gnana sundari, Italy - Jun 27, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 70% 70% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Nice place close to the station, clean, good place to know other people!

Enea, Italy - Sep 20, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 60% 60% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Is perfect to pass one night and the position in very good because in near to the central station and to the bus station.:)

Estela, Italy - Sep 01, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
60% 60% 70% 70% 30% 30% 80% 80% 60% 60% 60% 60%

The thing that really pulls this hostel down is one particular staff member. We arrived at 10am at the hostel to find a sign pinned to the desk saying "back immediately" when we'd waited 45 mins a v. rude man returned totally ignoring us, and then when prompted telling us that they were closed and we couldn't check in, however it clearly stated on a sign next to the desk that closure was 11am until 4pm. I told him we had been waiting a long time but he did not seem to care and was more interested in moaning about his daily hassles. However when we managed to check in later in the day with another staff member the place was fine, in a good location, ok for a couple of days at the beach.Just a shame about the first impressions.

Hannah, England - Jul 24, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 80% 80% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Excellent value when traveling thru Ancona via train.

Roy, Usa - Jul 05, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Cozy hostel :)

Matas, Lithuania - Jun 19, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 90% 90% 70% 70% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80%

The best way for your first nights in Ancona. In front of the station, not far from the town centre, good quality/price. Nice staff, nice living room with tv set, coffee and snacks machines.

Pietro, Italy - Jan 14, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 70% 70% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Quite nice, nearby railwaystation

Minna, Finland - Aug 31, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 100% 100% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

I felt that the hostel was very clean. I notice cleanliness even though I frequently stay at hostels and can tolerate dirty places. The older lady manning the desk was slightly slow, but she got the job done. I didn't bother to ask her about ferries b/c her English wasn't very good. There was slow, free wireless internet. The signs for the hostel had a different name, so remember that you don't have to walk too far from the station. Once out of the train station, cross the street. Go left for a short bit, turn right (almost doubling back) and go up the steep stairs and street. Follow the signs, trust the directions from locals.

Melissa, Usa - Aug 19, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 90% 90% 90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

the hostel is close to the train station and that's why we chose it. it's closed for 4-5 hours every day for cleaning and mostly it was ok, but for several days the showers didn't drain. it was also very hot while we were there and the dorms had a tiny window and no fan. door locks aren't much more than a slot that turns, with key or with anything else you stick in it. so, no real security. cupboards in the rooms for gear but they don't lock. getting to the beaches is super easy by bus (catch at train station). most people where only there for one night waiting for a ferry or getting back on a ferry.

wouldn't stay again just due to the heat of the dorms and no air flow made it terribly uncomfortable.

Nicholas, Usa - Aug 12, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

i loved this hostel, it was easy to find, very clean and well looked after. i have heard rumours of the owner being rude and not speaking eny english - i found the opposite i found her really really nice, she can speak english if you are polite and friendly to her. i had a problem with my money and could not pay on arrival and she could easily have not let me stay but she did and she saved my life by doing so, she is a lovely woman. and so what if they are closed all day? just plan your trip well and keep it in mind.

Katherine, Scotland - Sep 01, 2008

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 80% 80% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Very close to the train station, and fairly easy to find. The service was prompt and freindly. The beds and facilities were clean.

Alex, Usa - Jul 22, 2008

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
68% 68% 100% 100% 10% 10% 90% 90% 70% 70% 70% 70%

Do not book to stay in this hostel unless you are prepared to arrive at 22.00hours and wait until midnight to discover whether you actually have a bed or not. The owner had over booked and did not know which beds were occupied or not.He was sending people to rooms where the beds were occupied and was very argumentive and not helpful.On the evening we arrived he booked in people before us who arrived unbooked, in priority over those who had booked a month earlier and paid a deposit.The hostel was immacculately clean and spotless, but that was irrelevant to the customer service which was awful.At midnight I was left in a situation of having no where to sleep with with my daughter. It was not a pleasant experience and the language barrier did not help.We were lucky that a translator from another booking was avaliable and willing to help us out. It caused us a lot of stress and anxiety especially when we were expected to pay extra than the booking agreement, if we wanted the beds that were eventually discovered avaliable. SHEILA WEST MIDLANDS UK

Sheila, England - Jul 19, 2008

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 100% 100% 60% 60% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

This place is what you need in Ancona. It`s close to the train station and you can either bus or walk to the port. It is very, very clean and quiet at night. The people working at the hostel while I was there don`t speak English, though - but they make it work.

Helen, Canada - Jul 02, 2008

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
60% 60% 80% 80% 10% 10% 90% 90% 60% 60% 60% 60%

Ignore hostel worlds review these people dont speak 1 word of english or any other language for that matter and they lock u out for half the day. It is close to the train station and has nice rooms but that is all.

Geoff, Australia - Jun 16, 2008

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 90% 90% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

The hostel is charming. The staff ( a nice old italian Lady and two middelaged guys) don´t speak a word Englisch, but with the help of arms and legs, spanish or french speakers you can understand each other well. The closing times are a bit strange (from midnight to 6.30am and from 11pm to 4.30pm), but if you know you will be fine. The bathroom are quite clean for a hostel and the beds are great. So have fun in Ancona and visit Sirolo!

Maria, Germany - Jun 02, 2008

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 70% 70% 70% 70% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 80%

A hostel responsible without almost any knowledge of english or french, almost immediately asking if the customer speaks italian is a little bit down international service standards (luckily I could help myself quite well, but it is not so good in an international transit port).

For the rest, he gave good information about surroundings when questions asked.

It is a good place to stay for one or two nights (transit).

Geert, Belgium - Apr 15, 2008

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
72% 72% 90% 90% 60% 60% 70% 70% 70% 70% 70% 70%

good position because it is near the railways station otherwise around the place it is not safe I stayed there only one night so I cannot valuate the fun factor and the personality of the ostello.the price is good.

Simone, Italy - Jul 22, 2007

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
58% 58% 60% 60% 50% 50% 60% 60% 60% 60% 60% 60%

Located very close to the train station, but the staff does not speak English and the door is locked at midnight as well as from 10-4:30, which can turn into 5:00 or later!

Ashley, Usa - May 28, 2007

Hostels
Tours

ARE YOU AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT? Join our exclusive free discount program! Pay less, travel longer and party more! Tell me more » Check all Erasmus deals now! »

Free nights in Venice!

It's true! No joke, no game, no lottery - HostelsClub is giving away free nights and weekends in Venice.

Book at least 5 nights in any destination, and get a voucher for a free night accommodation for two in Venice!

Or enjoy a free weekend in Venice, as our loyal customer, by making five bookings (at least 2 nights each) with HostelsClub!

> read more

group booking special offers

Travelling in a group? Click on the link below to get the list of hostels that accept reservations for 10 or more guests. Use the search form to check availability and book online. If you like, feel free to contact us at groups@hostelsclub.com, we will help you find the best offer for your group.

> read more

Ancona hostels

Don't miss our offers!

Register your email to receive our monthly newsletter with discounts, special offers and competitions!