Sign Up Now - My Club MY CLUB ()
Need help? Call us: +39 041 5246742
Choose language

La Pescheria Backpackers reviews - our customers' opinion on La Pescheria Backpackers Guest House, Venice

Loading map...

La Pescheria Backpackers Guest House in Venice

La Pescheria Backpackers 

Category: Guest House

Address: Calle Dei Botteri 1699 San Polo - Venice, Italy

Starting from: 35.67 EUR

(indicative price per person, per night)

10% discount for HostelsClub.com Membership Card holders
10% discount for 15 or more guests

Customer rating

72% 72%

BOOK

LATEST REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
94% 94% 100% 100% 70% 70% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Good Clean enough near Rialto Bridge very Central don't expect a luxury accommodation we arrive late but we send an email and they where there waiting for us

Ragona, Canada - Jul 22, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

I enjoyed my stay a lote I've met a great people in this hostel I was impressed by negative reviews but I found a great place

Anonymous, Argentina - Jul 16, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
54% 54% 10% 10% 80% 80% 100% 100% 60% 60% 60% 20%

Hello

If you get the doubleroom for 40e and need a stay very urgent, ok. Otherwise not - you get for the same price really nice rooms in Venice. We had to pay nearly 90 for the double room. But ask for an insect spray!

- it smells sweet (like insects). This is really horrible.

- bath 1st floor not to recommend.

- breakfast (if you get it) - not to recommend.

Anonymous, Germany - Jun 18, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
68% 68% 60% 60% 90% 90% 70% 70% 60% 60% 60% 60%

We were staying on the top floor so we never had internet. The toilets were not clean and there was no toilet paper.

The location is ok around 10 min walk to Rialto Bridge and 20-25 min to San Marco

Ezgi, Turkey - May 16, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 70% 70% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90%

Location is perfect! And building have special sence of old Venice. Our dorm was exactly under the roof. It added something special to our staying in that magnificente city!

Ekaterina, Russia - Apr 17, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
34% 34% 10% 10% 10% 10% 90% 90% 40% 40% 40% 20%

A pretty disgusting place. The floors are dirty, the bathroom and kitchen are dirty.Hopefully the beds were kind of ok. The staff is nearly rude, not smiling, not helping. there are no lockers. They say there is wifi but it actually only works in the small common room. They say there is free tea and coffe I call it bullshit cause all there is is a boiler, you'll have to bring your own tea/coffee. The kitchen has not even the minimum necessary stuff to cook, or eat. No microwave. The kitchen is closed at random times (like one day the door was locked, the staff didn't have the keys, so I couldn't go get my food in the fridge..). Some said that there were bedbugs. It's a terrible place to stay!

Anonymous, Italy - Nov 23, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
64% 64% 70% 70% 30% 30% 100% 100% 60% 60% 60% 60%

The guy on the reception was so nasty. And from day 1 he tried to charge us more than what it corresponded. Not helpful at all. And even spoke in a bad way to us. The rest was fine, not great. Just the location is really good. They did not clean the table in the whole three days we were there.

Anonymous, Argentina - Nov 16, 2016

The owner's reply:

hah I asked to pay more?

was you who wanted 1 euro discount of 35 € I told you what the amount was, I'm sorry if you go on vacation if you have no money, better not leave home without money.

then make problems with a euro

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
52% 52% 50% 50% 60% 60% 100% 100% 30% 30% 30% 20%

There is no wifi in the rooms, the beds are absolutely horrible, and the shower was clogged so the entire bathroom floor was always wet. The location is great and it was the cheapest hostel I could find in Venice but I don't think I would stay here again or recommend anyone else to. The worker at the desk at night was very helpful but the one in the daytime made me feel uncomfortable.

Anonymous, Usa - Nov 12, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 80%

Handy position, very kind staff. Not renewed inside, not particularly beautiful nor attractive, but definitely cheap, given the strategical position, if you're on a budget. Up to your preferences...

Anonymous, Italy - Nov 05, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 70% 70% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80%

The cheaper option I found to stay in the city. It isn't luxury but ideal for having a place to sleep.

Anonymous, Mexico - Nov 01, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 100%

Really friendly and helpful staff, great location.

Veselina, Bulgaria - Oct 07, 2016

The owner's reply:

fala mnogu ḱe se vidime sledniot pat nadevam deka e taka :)

čestitki personal Onur

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
70% 70% 70% 70% 80% 80% 90% 90% 60% 60% 60% 50%

it is bit hot in the room, cannot lock the room from inside, no Internet in the room, not sure it was mosquito or maybe some unknown small bug in the bed, which broke out rash both in my legs and arms, so itchy for many days!

Yishan, China - Aug 08, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 70%

no wifi

Jingyue, China - Aug 05, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
74% 74% 70% 70% 80% 80% 90% 90% 70% 70% 70% 60%

Is an okay hostel if you only want to sleep there. The wifi only works in the reception, kitchen was practically useless (don't think about cooking there).

Jessie, Australia - Jul 25, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
84% 84% 80% 80% 70% 70% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 80%

OK but the sink in the bathroom was blocked when we arrived and still blocked 3 days later when we left

Anonymous, New zealand - Jun 02, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
28% 28% 10% 10% 30% 30% 70% 70% 20% 20% 20% 10%

Bathrooms were not cleaned after 2 days, they still remain dirty, with hairs everywhere in the shower, toilets dirty, no toilet paper. I have not seen cleaning staff anywhere in the hostel. Kitchen very dirty as well.

Paula, Argentina - Jun 01, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
76% 76% 80% 80% 90% 90% 100% 100% 50% 50% 50% 60%

Wifi is only in one room. Kitchen needs renovations.

Etienne, Canada - Apr 10, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
36% 36% 30% 30% 50% 50% 80% 80% 10% 10% 10% 10%

It smelled like corps in the room... We had to open the window... It was icy...

The kitchen is not usable and there is no bin either

Nina, Switzerland - Apr 08, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 50% 50% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Perfect for a few nights, great to discover the city!

Anonymous, Austria - Mar 25, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
24% 24% 30% 30% 30% 30% 40% 40% 10% 10% 10% 10%

The staff was unfriendly, the room was dirty and cold. Virtually no amenities. The shower was gross. It is not as close to the Rialto Bridge as it says. I would not recommend staying here.

Cara, Usa - Mar 17, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
56% 56% 30% 30% 20% 20% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 30%

Nobody to welcome and guide to the room, shower curtain dirty and without lock at the bathroom...

Well situated.

Anonymous, France - Feb 21, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

It's a very good location at very good price in comparassion to other places around.

Fernando, Panama - Feb 18, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
68% 68% 60% 60% 80% 80% 90% 90% 50% 50% 50% 60%

The fridge barely works and I couldn't seem to get the stove to work either. One of the nights the heaters weren't turned on and I wasn't able to find anyone to turn them on. It was expensive for what I got.

Anonymous, Australia - Jan 31, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
12% 12% 10% 10% 10% 10% 20% 20% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Do not come to this hostel. I could not have been less comfortable, which kind of ruined my trip and perception of Venice. Perhaps this is the desired effect. Anyway, they wouldn't turn on the heat, give me a towel, dirty blankets, no PCs, stove lighter disappeared and staff, who were quite rude, didn't care; they didn't even bother to show me around the hostel. You do not get your money's worth at all, you can't come to this hostel and expect it to be minimally enjoyable, let alone comfortable.

Alexia caroline, Italy - Jan 27, 2016

The owner's reply:

If you have psychological problems please choose another hostel

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
54% 54% 30% 30% 70% 70% 80% 80% 40% 40% 40% 50%

Our room wasnext to the reception so it was quite noisy during the reception working hours. The room wasn t that clean and the sink was out of order.

Francesco, Italy - Nov 19, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 100%

I really don't know why the ratings of this hostel are so bad. I really liked staying at the hostel. The location is amazing, staff is friendly and he rooms are clean. WIFI was also working properly though in the common area only. The bathrooms were clean, though some things were a bit broken and weren't replaced during our stay (nothing important though). I'd definitely go there again!

Anonymous, Germany - Nov 18, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
76% 76% 80% 80% 90% 90% 100% 100% 70% 70% 70% 40%

The house is very old but clean. I was in a room with 4 girls and the sockets weren't working. The first day was so cold the room, we complained and the second day was very hot!

They say they have maps, but I could only get it by the day I was leaving.. not to much helpfull.

The restroom is for the entire floor but clean and with paper!

Paula, Brazil - Nov 11, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
58% 58% 40% 40% 70% 70% 100% 100% 50% 50% 50% 30%

It wasn't terrible but it wasn't great either. A few things to make it better would be bath mats in bathrooms. It said to clean the floor after but there was nothing to use. Bath mats would help. The locks on the bathroom door didn't work properly. There was nowhere to put things in the shower or in the bathroom except on top of sink or toilet. The kitchen looked dirty but there was a fridge which was clean. The beds didn't have mattress protectors on them. Also I paid extra for four person dorm but there were five people staying in it. My key for the main door didn't work but they changed it.

Anonymous, New zealand - Oct 05, 2015

The owner's reply:

Thank you sir for your reviews we will do our best to welcome in a better way our futur customers. Thank you Again Ai Boteri Staff

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 100% 100% 70% 70% 70% 70%

Nice hostel with lots of international people but some issues. I sleeped in a six bed dorm. One of beds was broken, the air condition die not work proably. The kitchen had no equiment. If you are staining in the hostel only for sleeping ist perfect.

Otto, Germany - Sep 14, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
76% 76% 70% 70% 80% 80% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 50%

Without moquette-carpet it would be more cleaned and venetian old style! Watch out, the furniture is decaying

Anonymous, Italy - Sep 12, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
50% 50% 50% 50% 40% 40% 100% 100% 30% 30% 30% 30%

Great location! Easy access.

BUT: no warm water after a certain hour, toilet doesn't flush and depending with which website you reserved, breakfast is not included. A bit of a bummer. The location made up for it, though!

Justine, Belgium - Sep 03, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
68% 68% 50% 50% 80% 80% 80% 80% 70% 70% 70% 60%

The heart of the City center

Anonymous, Chile - Aug 08, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
84% 84% 90% 90% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Normal standards achieved, nice atmosphere, friendly staff.

Anonymous, Germany - Jul 22, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

This is one of the best places where you can stay cheap central and very clean rooms other places was terrible expensive I can recommend this hostel

Isabel, Ecuador - Jul 13, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 70% 70% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80%

We moved 3 hostels befor finding this great hostel in the City center and we where very happy with the room (was very clean) and a speciali has Air conditioning which was a great plus for the very hot summer in Venice

Ariane, Canada - Jul 09, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
66% 66% 50% 50% 60% 60% 90% 90% 70% 70% 70% 60%

Bathroom not so clean. Very good location. The room good. Poor breakfast.

Anonymous, Argentina - Jun 22, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
32% 32% 30% 30% 20% 20% 90% 90% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Dont expect much. The location is great but thats it. Staff isnt friendly or helpful. Prices are high for what you get. Its more of a dormitory, not a hostel or backpackers. Breakfast is NOT included.WiFi only works in some area.booking in person isn't easy.(check prices).

If they added a few touches, like bath mats, towels in bathrooms, offered maps and had info, it would make a difference!

Anonymous, Usa - Jun 14, 2015

The owner's reply:

Thank you for your time to review us maybe we haven't the great staff but we have the best price location in Venice is all !! The other hostel is in Giudecca and you need to pay 8 euros to go there and 8 euros to get back plus the price of your bed

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
66% 66% 80% 80% 60% 60% 80% 80% 60% 60% 60% 50%

The staff í not friendly enough. Wifi password is too long and not pasted in the room. One shower in 1 bathroom in 4th floor is broken but I am not aware of it before and must take a bath with cola water.

Huong, Vietnam - Jun 10, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 100% 100% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

El lugar está bien ubicado, limpio, fácil llegar por bote-bus. Lo único desastroso es el internet, trate mil veces y nunca logre decifrar cual era la clave del wifi.

Juan, Chile - Apr 20, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 80% 80% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Nice place to stay, well situated. Clean and safe. I recommend!

Audrey, Canada - Apr 17, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
58% 58% 60% 60% 40% 40% 90% 90% 50% 50% 50% 50%

The kitchen is closed all days.It was cold in the room and heating does not work.The location is great. The stuff is not on the place

Yuliya, Belarus - Mar 25, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
48% 48% 10% 10% 60% 60% 50% 50% 20% 20% 20% 100%

Very poor indeed wouldn't recommend to anyone. Rooms were freezing cold,dirty and poor lighting meant you couldn't see what you were doing. On 2 showers for 20 people and batroom floors were staurated. Very indirect route there from Rialto bridge through a spooky passage that was unlit at night. It was poor even for a hostel!

Kat, Poland - Feb 23, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
44% 44% 50% 50% 20% 20% 80% 80% 30% 30% 30% 40%

There was rarely anybody at the reception. Ended up using our bedsheets as a towel because there was nobody working there the entire morning to give us towels. The next day we found a guy working and we asked for towels because we saw that was included and he said that we had to pay..... But we read online that it was included along with breakfast. Both didn't exist. The beds wasn't so good. If you are traveling alone don't stay here because they don't have a common area to make friends or meet people they have just a kitchen which is almost in another room... Very bad..

Anonymous, Germany - Jan 10, 2015

The owner's reply:

customer friendly, we have lowered prices to a minimum, you have taken the discounted seats.

have paid 13.50 euro per person.

breakfast and towels are included with a full price.

  for us, breakfast costs EUR 5 per person, 1 towels costs 2 euro.

13,50-

5,00-

2,00 = 6.50

then you can understand why these were not included optional?

please let think about it, before writing, a bit of common sense.

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
66% 66% 70% 70% 50% 50% 80% 80% 70% 70% 70% 60%

The hostel is in a good location, but the staff is rude. It is very cold at night in the rooms, and the internet does not work properly--this really was an inconvenience. If I were to go back again to Venice, I would stay in a different hostel.

Anonymous, Usa - Dec 16, 2014

The owner's reply:

the heating is turned off at night, if you had a cold you could ask for extra blanket. but you never voiced the problem that you had cold.

the heating was on until 23:00.

you're shooting in a polite, because you have used, and soiled, a third bed that was for another customer, and you do not even apologized.

had you asked the cost of the sheets, but we did not.

you did the "Check-Out" without paying the full amount of the reservation.

  rude and unfair is you,

we who do not want customers like you.

greetings

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 70% 70% 70% 50%

Staff member Alex was great. Other reception person was rude and unhelpful.

Main issue is that information from them is different to on website. It says buy food and cook due to Venice being expensive. We did that to then find out their cooking facilities don't work in either communal kitchens.

We also booked the most expensive room and wifi was not available in the room. Was only available in the cheap rooms.

Otherwise it was great

Joseph, Australia - Nov 18, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 70% 70% 80% 80% 100% 100% 70% 70% 70% 80%

We had a really great time! The location of the hostel is perfect, the Rialtobrigde is just around the corner and a waterbus is almost in front of your door. The stuff was also friendly. We had cold water at the beginning but after telling the stuff the problem was solved within 20 minutes. Our bathromm was ok, clean but a bit damaged haha. There is also a kitchen that you can use to cook your own stuff (which saves a lot of money in Venice haha).

The included breakfast was only one coffee (latte,cappucino,..) and a croissant but tasty.

All in all I would say that I would definetely go there again.

Anonymous, Germany - Sep 20, 2014

The owner's reply:

Dear Guest we are very happy to accomodate you and your Group of persons any time that you decide to come back to Venice Best Regards

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Awesome location for a great price!

Anh, Usa - Aug 11, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
46% 46% 60% 60% 10% 10% 100% 100% 30% 30% 30% 30%

No value of the customer.

Worst of all the hostels.

Anonymous, Pakistan - Aug 11, 2014

The owner's reply:

Dear Guest We are sorry if you where unhappy we from always we say if you are a complicate person please choose another hostel!!! and a personal advise if you are a complicate person please don't stay in a hostel!! since the hostels owners rent beds and don't educate poeple! Sorry again!

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
48% 48% 40% 40% 50% 50% 70% 70% 40% 40% 40% 40%

not good in summer, as the air conditioning didn't work at our time of visit; plus it doesn't have internet in rooms.

Anonymous, Iran - Aug 06, 2014

The owner's reply:

Dear Sir I'am realy Sorry that you where unhappy because no internet in The room but we insist saying that we have free wireless in all Rooms !! And about The airconditioning we never sell Rooms with The airconditioning but know is working!

Regards

Marco

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Nice place to stay and really good located. If you go there with a rented car they have a parking lot where you can leave your car (this is important to mention because in the description it is not said).

Jose francisco, Mexico - Jul 16, 2014

Hostels
Tours

ARE YOU AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT? Join our exclusive free discount program! Pay less, travel longer and party more! Tell me more » Check all Erasmus deals now! »

Free nights in Venice!

It's true! No joke, no game, no lottery - HostelsClub is giving away free nights and weekends in Venice.

Book at least 5 nights in any destination, and get a voucher for a free night accommodation for two in Venice!

Or enjoy a free weekend in Venice, as our loyal customer, by making five bookings (at least 2 nights each) with HostelsClub!

> read more

group booking special offers

Travelling in a group? Click on the link below to get the list of hostels that accept reservations for 10 or more guests. Use the search form to check availability and book online. If you like, feel free to contact us at groups@hostelsclub.com, we will help you find the best offer for your group.

> read more

Don't miss our offers!

Register your email to receive our monthly newsletter with discounts, special offers and competitions!