La Pescheria Backpackers
Category: Guest House
Address: Calle Dei Botteri 1699 San Polo - Venice, Italy
Starting from: 33.14 EUR
(indicative price per person, per night)
|10% discount for HostelsClub.com Membership Card holders|
|10% discount for 15 or more guests|
LATEST REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL
Its a good and economic hostel.
Location is amazing and rooms were descent.
The staff was friendly and helping too.
The kitchen is good and has adequate facilities.
Yash, India - Dec 19, 2017
Great location but not clean enough
Anonymous, Australia - Nov 21, 2017
Exactely what i was my expectations no more no less, we will be back to your place thank you again
Anonymous, Spain - Oct 19, 2017
I was very happy with the location and accommodation, was fairly clean and the staff where quite helpful, I would definitely recommend it, only down side it the breakfast as the place only opens to at 10 am, so paid for it but never ate there, had to eat somewhere else.
Nicolette, South africa - Oct 18, 2017
Good Clean enough near Rialto Bridge very Central don't expect a luxury accommodation we arrive late but we send an email and they where there waiting for us
Ragona, Canada - Jul 22, 2017
I enjoyed my stay a lote I've met a great people in this hostel I was impressed by negative reviews but I found a great place
Anonymous, Argentina - Jul 16, 2017
If you get the doubleroom for 40e and need a stay very urgent, ok. Otherwise not - you get for the same price really nice rooms in Venice. We had to pay nearly 90 for the double room. But ask for an insect spray!
- it smells sweet (like insects). This is really horrible.
- bath 1st floor not to recommend.
- breakfast (if you get it) - not to recommend.
Anonymous, Germany - Jun 18, 2017
We were staying on the top floor so we never had internet. The toilets were not clean and there was no toilet paper.
The location is ok around 10 min walk to Rialto Bridge and 20-25 min to San Marco
Ezgi, Turkey - May 16, 2017
Location is perfect! And building have special sence of old Venice. Our dorm was exactly under the roof. It added something special to our staying in that magnificente city!
Ekaterina, Russia - Apr 17, 2017
A pretty disgusting place. The floors are dirty, the bathroom and kitchen are dirty.Hopefully the beds were kind of ok. The staff is nearly rude, not smiling, not helping. there are no lockers. They say there is wifi but it actually only works in the small common room. They say there is free tea and coffe I call it bullshit cause all there is is a boiler, you'll have to bring your own tea/coffee. The kitchen has not even the minimum necessary stuff to cook, or eat. No microwave. The kitchen is closed at random times (like one day the door was locked, the staff didn't have the keys, so I couldn't go get my food in the fridge..). Some said that there were bedbugs. It's a terrible place to stay!
Anonymous, Italy - Nov 23, 2016
The guy on the reception was so nasty. And from day 1 he tried to charge us more than what it corresponded. Not helpful at all. And even spoke in a bad way to us. The rest was fine, not great. Just the location is really good. They did not clean the table in the whole three days we were there.
Anonymous, Argentina - Nov 16, 2016
The owner's reply:
hah I asked to pay more?
was you who wanted 1 euro discount of 35 € I told you what the amount was, I'm sorry if you go on vacation if you have no money, better not leave home without money.
then make problems with a euro
There is no wifi in the rooms, the beds are absolutely horrible, and the shower was clogged so the entire bathroom floor was always wet. The location is great and it was the cheapest hostel I could find in Venice but I don't think I would stay here again or recommend anyone else to. The worker at the desk at night was very helpful but the one in the daytime made me feel uncomfortable.
Anonymous, Usa - Nov 12, 2016
Handy position, very kind staff. Not renewed inside, not particularly beautiful nor attractive, but definitely cheap, given the strategical position, if you're on a budget. Up to your preferences...
Anonymous, Italy - Nov 05, 2016
The cheaper option I found to stay in the city. It isn't luxury but ideal for having a place to sleep.
Anonymous, Mexico - Nov 01, 2016
Really friendly and helpful staff, great location.
Veselina, Bulgaria - Oct 07, 2016
The owner's reply:
fala mnogu ḱe se vidime sledniot pat nadevam deka e taka :)
čestitki personal Onur
it is bit hot in the room, cannot lock the room from inside, no Internet in the room, not sure it was mosquito or maybe some unknown small bug in the bed, which broke out rash both in my legs and arms, so itchy for many days!
Yishan, China - Aug 08, 2016
Jingyue, China - Aug 05, 2016
Is an okay hostel if you only want to sleep there. The wifi only works in the reception, kitchen was practically useless (don't think about cooking there).
Jessie, Australia - Jul 25, 2016
OK but the sink in the bathroom was blocked when we arrived and still blocked 3 days later when we left
Anonymous, New zealand - Jun 02, 2016
Bathrooms were not cleaned after 2 days, they still remain dirty, with hairs everywhere in the shower, toilets dirty, no toilet paper. I have not seen cleaning staff anywhere in the hostel. Kitchen very dirty as well.
Paula, Argentina - Jun 01, 2016
Wifi is only in one room. Kitchen needs renovations.
Etienne, Canada - Apr 10, 2016
It smelled like corps in the room... We had to open the window... It was icy...
The kitchen is not usable and there is no bin either
Nina, Switzerland - Apr 08, 2016
Perfect for a few nights, great to discover the city!
Anonymous, Austria - Mar 25, 2016
The staff was unfriendly, the room was dirty and cold. Virtually no amenities. The shower was gross. It is not as close to the Rialto Bridge as it says. I would not recommend staying here.
Cara, Usa - Mar 17, 2016
Nobody to welcome and guide to the room, shower curtain dirty and without lock at the bathroom...
Anonymous, France - Feb 21, 2016
It's a very good location at very good price in comparassion to other places around.
Fernando, Panama - Feb 18, 2016
The fridge barely works and I couldn't seem to get the stove to work either. One of the nights the heaters weren't turned on and I wasn't able to find anyone to turn them on. It was expensive for what I got.
Anonymous, Australia - Jan 31, 2016
Do not come to this hostel. I could not have been less comfortable, which kind of ruined my trip and perception of Venice. Perhaps this is the desired effect. Anyway, they wouldn't turn on the heat, give me a towel, dirty blankets, no PCs, stove lighter disappeared and staff, who were quite rude, didn't care; they didn't even bother to show me around the hostel. You do not get your money's worth at all, you can't come to this hostel and expect it to be minimally enjoyable, let alone comfortable.
Alexia caroline, Italy - Jan 27, 2016
The owner's reply:
If you have psychological problems please choose another hostel
Our room wasnext to the reception so it was quite noisy during the reception working hours. The room wasn t that clean and the sink was out of order.
Francesco, Italy - Nov 19, 2015
I really don't know why the ratings of this hostel are so bad. I really liked staying at the hostel. The location is amazing, staff is friendly and he rooms are clean. WIFI was also working properly though in the common area only. The bathrooms were clean, though some things were a bit broken and weren't replaced during our stay (nothing important though). I'd definitely go there again!
Anonymous, Germany - Nov 18, 2015
The house is very old but clean. I was in a room with 4 girls and the sockets weren't working. The first day was so cold the room, we complained and the second day was very hot!
They say they have maps, but I could only get it by the day I was leaving.. not to much helpfull.
The restroom is for the entire floor but clean and with paper!
Paula, Brazil - Nov 11, 2015
It wasn't terrible but it wasn't great either. A few things to make it better would be bath mats in bathrooms. It said to clean the floor after but there was nothing to use. Bath mats would help. The locks on the bathroom door didn't work properly. There was nowhere to put things in the shower or in the bathroom except on top of sink or toilet. The kitchen looked dirty but there was a fridge which was clean. The beds didn't have mattress protectors on them. Also I paid extra for four person dorm but there were five people staying in it. My key for the main door didn't work but they changed it.
Anonymous, New zealand - Oct 05, 2015
The owner's reply:
Thank you sir for your reviews we will do our best to welcome in a better way our futur customers. Thank you Again Ai Boteri Staff
Nice hostel with lots of international people but some issues. I sleeped in a six bed dorm. One of beds was broken, the air condition die not work proably. The kitchen had no equiment. If you are staining in the hostel only for sleeping ist perfect.
Otto, Germany - Sep 14, 2015
Without moquette-carpet it would be more cleaned and venetian old style! Watch out, the furniture is decaying
Anonymous, Italy - Sep 12, 2015
Great location! Easy access.
BUT: no warm water after a certain hour, toilet doesn't flush and depending with which website you reserved, breakfast is not included. A bit of a bummer. The location made up for it, though!
Justine, Belgium - Sep 03, 2015
The heart of the City center
Anonymous, Chile - Aug 08, 2015
Normal standards achieved, nice atmosphere, friendly staff.
Anonymous, Germany - Jul 22, 2015
This is one of the best places where you can stay cheap central and very clean rooms other places was terrible expensive I can recommend this hostel
Isabel, Ecuador - Jul 13, 2015
We moved 3 hostels befor finding this great hostel in the City center and we where very happy with the room (was very clean) and a speciali has Air conditioning which was a great plus for the very hot summer in Venice
Ariane, Canada - Jul 09, 2015
Bathroom not so clean. Very good location. The room good. Poor breakfast.
Anonymous, Argentina - Jun 22, 2015
Dont expect much. The location is great but thats it. Staff isnt friendly or helpful. Prices are high for what you get. Its more of a dormitory, not a hostel or backpackers. Breakfast is NOT included.WiFi only works in some area.booking in person isn't easy.(check prices).
If they added a few touches, like bath mats, towels in bathrooms, offered maps and had info, it would make a difference!
Anonymous, Usa - Jun 14, 2015
The owner's reply:
Thank you for your time to review us maybe we haven't the great staff but we have the best price location in Venice is all !! The other hostel is in Giudecca and you need to pay 8 euros to go there and 8 euros to get back plus the price of your bed
The staff í not friendly enough. Wifi password is too long and not pasted in the room. One shower in 1 bathroom in 4th floor is broken but I am not aware of it before and must take a bath with cola water.
Huong, Vietnam - Jun 10, 2015
El lugar está bien ubicado, limpio, fácil llegar por bote-bus. Lo único desastroso es el internet, trate mil veces y nunca logre decifrar cual era la clave del wifi.
Juan, Chile - Apr 20, 2015
Nice place to stay, well situated. Clean and safe. I recommend!
Audrey, Canada - Apr 17, 2015
The kitchen is closed all days.It was cold in the room and heating does not work.The location is great. The stuff is not on the place
Yuliya, Belarus - Mar 25, 2015
Very poor indeed wouldn't recommend to anyone. Rooms were freezing cold,dirty and poor lighting meant you couldn't see what you were doing. On 2 showers for 20 people and batroom floors were staurated. Very indirect route there from Rialto bridge through a spooky passage that was unlit at night. It was poor even for a hostel!
Kat, Poland - Feb 23, 2015
There was rarely anybody at the reception. Ended up using our bedsheets as a towel because there was nobody working there the entire morning to give us towels. The next day we found a guy working and we asked for towels because we saw that was included and he said that we had to pay..... But we read online that it was included along with breakfast. Both didn't exist. The beds wasn't so good. If you are traveling alone don't stay here because they don't have a common area to make friends or meet people they have just a kitchen which is almost in another room... Very bad..
Anonymous, Germany - Jan 10, 2015
The owner's reply:
customer friendly, we have lowered prices to a minimum, you have taken the discounted seats.
have paid 13.50 euro per person.
breakfast and towels are included with a full price.
for us, breakfast costs EUR 5 per person, 1 towels costs 2 euro.
2,00 = 6.50
then you can understand why these were not included optional?
please let think about it, before writing, a bit of common sense.
The hostel is in a good location, but the staff is rude. It is very cold at night in the rooms, and the internet does not work properly--this really was an inconvenience. If I were to go back again to Venice, I would stay in a different hostel.
Anonymous, Usa - Dec 16, 2014
The owner's reply:
the heating is turned off at night, if you had a cold you could ask for extra blanket. but you never voiced the problem that you had cold.
the heating was on until 23:00.
you're shooting in a polite, because you have used, and soiled, a third bed that was for another customer, and you do not even apologized.
had you asked the cost of the sheets, but we did not.
you did the "Check-Out" without paying the full amount of the reservation.
rude and unfair is you,
we who do not want customers like you.
Staff member Alex was great. Other reception person was rude and unhelpful.
Main issue is that information from them is different to on website. It says buy food and cook due to Venice being expensive. We did that to then find out their cooking facilities don't work in either communal kitchens.
We also booked the most expensive room and wifi was not available in the room. Was only available in the cheap rooms.
Otherwise it was great
Joseph, Australia - Nov 18, 2014
We had a really great time! The location of the hostel is perfect, the Rialtobrigde is just around the corner and a waterbus is almost in front of your door. The stuff was also friendly. We had cold water at the beginning but after telling the stuff the problem was solved within 20 minutes. Our bathromm was ok, clean but a bit damaged haha. There is also a kitchen that you can use to cook your own stuff (which saves a lot of money in Venice haha).
The included breakfast was only one coffee (latte,cappucino,..) and a croissant but tasty.
All in all I would say that I would definetely go there again.
Anonymous, Germany - Sep 20, 2014
The owner's reply:
Dear Guest we are very happy to accomodate you and your Group of persons any time that you decide to come back to Venice Best Regards
Free nights in Venice!
It's true! No joke, no game, no lottery - HostelsClub is giving away free nights and weekends in Venice.
Book at least 5 nights in any destination, and get a voucher for a free night accommodation for two in Venice!
Or enjoy a free weekend in Venice, as our loyal customer, by making five bookings (at least 2 nights each) with HostelsClub!
Travelling in a group? Click on the link below to get the list of hostels that accept reservations for 10 or more guests. Use the search form to check availability and book online. If you like, feel free to contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org, we will help you find the best offer for your group.
Don't miss our offers!
Register your email to receive our monthly newsletter with discounts, special offers and competitions!