Sign Up Now - My Club MY CLUB ()
Need help? Call us: +39 041 5246742
Choose language

Galata West Hostel reviews - our customers' opinion on Galata West Hostel Hostel, Istanbul

Loading map...

Galata West Hostel Hostel in Istanbul

Galata West Hostel 

Category: Hostel

Address: Bereketzade Mah. Okcumusa Cad. Savcibey Cikmazi No:3 Beyoglu - Istanbul, Turkey

Customer rating

86% 86%

BOOK

LATEST REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL

[reviews in all languages]

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Galatawest Hostel shut down on 15th September

Ivan, Russia - Oct 01, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Now, I stayed in a private room so I cannot comment on the dorms, though they are air conditioned too. That's a pretty important feature for summer in Istanbul. This was a great hostel. Absolutely worth my money (though again I had a single so cannot completely comment on the dorms). The terrace is excellent as well. I must add that the only con is the lack of an elevator, which only is bothersome if you have to move a heavy bag, oh no, for once I got some exercise. It's a great hostel. I am disappointed I did not have more time in Istanbul and time here.

Maxwell, Usa - Aug 06, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Good atmosphere, good staff and any problems.

Damian, Spain - Jun 27, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 60% 60% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Very nice staff, interesting visitors from all over the world. Perfect location as the hostel is in the city centre.

Anonymous, Germany - May 08, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Great location in the steep and cozy streets in the Galata area, wonderful view from the top floor terrace/hang out area/breakfast table, very friendly staff. I can definitely recommend this hostel :)

Anonymous, Finland - Feb 25, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Nice place with amazing view of the city. Tasty breakfast as promised every morning. I only missed Turkish coffee but there was nescafe instead.

Dora, Hungary - Jan 03, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 80% 80% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 100%

Well located. Good value for money.

Vincent, France - May 03, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
72% 72% 70% 70% 100% 100% 90% 90% 50% 50% 50% 50%

The room was really small. No light from the window

Gianluigi, Italy - Apr 07, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 100%

Great location ..value for money !!+ free breakfast

Anonymous, Croatia - Jan 13, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
66% 66% 60% 60% 70% 70% 60% 60% 70% 70% 70% 70%

I have a mixed opinion regarding this place. First of all the cleanliness is border line in the bathroom/shower. The shower is quite filthy. There is one bathroom with toilets per floor which is very few. The staff is a little bit cold but very helpful when you ask for help. Then the location is very central but not in very good neighborhood. However they have an amazing terrace and the value for money is pretty good.

Maël, France - Jan 01, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

I liked the hostels very much! Very clean and comfortable. Terrace are amasing!

Vera, Russia - Oct 10, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
26% 26% 50% 50% 50% 50% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%

The hostel is in a very dangerous zone, too inconvenient with very narro staircase, you can't lift the luggage to your room. The toilets are not very well, some of them do not work. The rooms too small and hot, you can,t have fresh air from anywhere. There are not towels,

Anonymous, Bulgaria - Jun 01, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

good staff in a good place. ;)

Fabio, Italy - Sep 16, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 80% 80% 90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

This was my first hostel in decades so I had no opinions. To me, for what one pays, this is fine. There were no issues and everything was good. Sam behind the counter was a great lad but was only there for a short period. Very hard to find....but stick with it.

Jane, England - Sep 09, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

it is a really nice place to stay

and has great position in the city...it is close to everything

the staff people of the hostel are nice and warm and polite also

i will recommend this hostel to anyone that wants nice place for sleeping for really less money

Greetings from Macedonia,

T

Tomislav , Macedonia - Apr 24, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Unfortunately there was a mixup with our reservation so we didn't actually stay at this hostel. However the owner was devastated and couldn't stop apologising. He found a new hostel for us and drove us there. The hostel (reception area) was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful and it is ideally situated. I would certainly consider staying there next time I visit Istanbul.

Dianne, Germany - Apr 21, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
78% 78% 80% 80% 80% 80% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Got a double room with almost no window, it was always very dark. Very nice terrace and friendly staff. I liked the fact that the kitchen is basically run by the hostel's guest.

Annalisa, Italy - Oct 05, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

I had a nice staying. The hostel is cheap, at walking distance from the Galata tower, with public transport in the nearby. Nice and clean shared rooms with air conditioning and wonderful terrace for the evening time. Breakfast is poor but there is a fridge and the kitchen and a lot of market in the nearby. They ask for cash paying.

Sebastiano, Italy - Aug 13, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
52% 52% 40% 40% 60% 60% 60% 60% 50% 50% 50% 50%

Hard to find !

Gitta, Germany - Jul 29, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

I spent wonderful evenings in the as well wonderful terrace of this hostel. An essential but very nice hostel, with a perfect position, especially for the nightlife.

Gesualdo, Italy - Jul 03, 2012

Hostels
Tours

ARE YOU AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT? Join our exclusive free discount program! Pay less, travel longer and party more! Tell me more » Check all Erasmus deals now! »

Free nights in Venice!

It's true! No joke, no game, no lottery - HostelsClub is giving away free nights and weekends in Venice.

Book at least 5 nights in any destination, and get a voucher for a free night accommodation for two in Venice!

Or enjoy a free weekend in Venice, as our loyal customer, by making five bookings (at least 2 nights each) with HostelsClub!

> read more

group booking special offers

Travelling in a group? Click on the link below to get the list of hostels that accept reservations for 10 or more guests. Use the search form to check availability and book online. If you like, feel free to contact us at groups@hostelsclub.com, we will help you find the best offer for your group.

> read more

Don't miss our offers!

Register your email to receive our monthly newsletter with discounts, special offers and competitions!