Sign Up Now - My Club MY CLUB ()
Need help? Call us: +39 041 5246742
Choose language

Hotel Iris reviews - our customers' opinion on Hotel Iris Hotel **, Venice

Loading map...

Hotel Iris Hotel ** in Venice

Hotel Iris 

Category: Hotel **

Address: San Polo 2910/A - Venice, Italy

Starting from: 37.78 EUR

(indicative price per person, per night)

10% discount for HostelsClub.com Membership Card holders (2 nights minimum)
10% discount for 10 or more guests (2 nights minimum)

Customer rating

77% 77%

BOOK

LATEST REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
20% 20% 10% 10% 10% 10% 60% 60% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Before I begin, the receptionist that I’ll be referring to stated that his name is ‘Silva’, a man of indian descent. While all of the below transpired, please note that there was a total of 7 witnesses, as well as the other concierge, an Asian man who was very mannerly in comparison to Silva. If you’ve already made the mistake of booking this place I’d advise to request another attendant upon check-in, as he is not someone I would be around alone. Or if you’re looking to book because you’re on a tight budget, ensure to book the refundable rate, so that you have the opportunity to get reimbursed after you arrive and see that an extra 20-40 euros elsewhere is worth it!

Here’s how it went..

We’ve been travelling smoothly across Europe for a month until we arrived to Hotel Iris. Upon arrival Silva asked us for our passports (we were 2 couples). I handed mine and my husband’s passport, at which point Silva stated that our room was a single room. When asked for a double room and stated that we will pay the difference, Silva mentioned that there are no other rooms available. We pulled out our reservation documents and showed him that nothing on our end stated that. Silva continued to make copies of both passports. A few minutes passed, and he processed the information for all four of us; we figured we will make do with the single rooms, as he didn’t say anything further. As we picked up our luggage to go to the rooms, he asked my husband and my friend’s husband ‘where are you going?’ He said that only two of us could stay in the 2 rooms, and the other 2 would have to go elsewhere. After hours of travelling and lugging around our luggage trying to find this place, that’s the last thing any traveller wants to hear. Let alone have someone tell you to leave your spouse and look for an alternative hotel in a city you’re unfamiliar with. Also why did he still go ahead and copy all 4 of our passports if only 2 of us could stay.. Talk about shady.

15 minutes later Silva magically found one queen room available. We asked to take a look at the single and queen room. The rooms were nauseating. They smell of mold and odour, and are the size of a standard bathroom – extremely small. Even still, we figured we will make do as our options were limited, and take the one queen and one single room. When we returned downstairs, Silva started saying it would be an additional 40 euro PER PERSON/night. This would’ve now made it a total of 180 euro per night (we had 2 nights booked) to stay at a hole in the wall.

Appalled at Silva’s tone and ridiculous solution, we were beyond upset. We kept showing him our reservation papers and explaining that there must’ve been a glitch in the system, as his documentation was completely different than ours. Silva then stood up abruptly from his chair and started screaming at us. Yes, literally screaming. Silva must’ve been bipolar (I’m no doctor, but it was evident) because after 5 minutes of screaming, he then says to the other couple how they can stay at no extra charge, but that we had to go (because I was doing the talking and he was upset with me that I made sense and called him out on his scam of a system he had running). I said ‘of course they don’t have to pay anything extra now since you’ll be making 200 euros from our non-refundable rate that you got from us, since you’re kicking us out.’ Silva was all of a sudden quiet. The other couple began to get very upset with him as they saw the lack of customer service and were appalled that anyone would act so ignorant towards customers… ready for this?

Silva GOT UP from around his desk and came in front of us and was ready to take a swing/hit us. We called him out on his unprofessional customer service and told him this is no way to run a business, whether he’s the owner or not. We then left Hotel Iris the Dump and found a hotel less than a block away, which offered us a stay in the most beautifully furnished and immaculate hotel & room I’ve ever seen, for 140 euro/night. Yes we lost 200 euro for the 2 non-refundable nights at Hotel Iris the Dump, but after being treated like invalids, I’m sure you would’ve done the same. It was somewhere we felt unsafe

Anonymous, Canada - Jul 10, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%

As soon as we walked in it was a nightmare. We booked 2 double rooms, Silva told us we booked 2 single rooms. He did the full check in knowing our situation and as we were to walk upstairs he told us our husbands needed to find somewhere else to stay. He took no responsibility and did not try to help. He said no double rooms were available. My friend got upset and Silva got even more upset and got up and started yelling at her saying she was rude. Customer service was HORRIBLE! He offered me a double room after but he would not accommodate my friend or even offer a refund. Our confirmations did not specify that it was a single room but he said his did. He once again yelled at my friend at which point she started to cry and her husband insisted they leave since he did not try to help at all or show any care or remorse. Silva has no respect for his customer. My husband and I stayed solely for the fact of not losing anymore money. He did not charge us any extra as he got the full costs of the room from my friend but at first he said it would be 40 euros extra to get the double. The room was disgusting, it smelt horrible the bed was uncomfortable the washroom was gross, we stayed in 18 cities this trip and this was by far the worst experience of my entire life. I do not recommend Iris at all, the cost was waaay too much for it even being a single room with a private washroom, it was a joke. We paid 90 euros a night and it was terrible!!! DO NOT BOOK HERE!!! It ruined our whole experience in Venice.

Ashley, Canada - Jul 05, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 80%

I selected the Iris based solely on its location: Its proximity to the Universita' Ca' Foscari - less than five minutes away on foot - makes it ideal for those attending a conference there. Otherwise, Iris is simply another two-star hotel in Venice. Clean but small, and almost no amenities. Pricing is fairly appropriate for lodging of this type & location.

Lee, Usa - Jun 24, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

I had a terrible experience with my HotelsClub booking for this hotel. I paid for the nights accommodation but there was NO BED when I arrived. It was not the fault of the hotel's. HotelsClub have ignored my email requesting a refund. In all other respects, Signor Diego at the desk was wonderful & I would be very happy to stay at the hotel ( if I got the bed I paid for).

Mary, Australia - Jun 17, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
78% 78% 50% 50% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 60%

Very nice Location! VERY Small rooms, but the price is good.

Who is just looking for a inexpansive place to stay in a very good area has the right address with Hotel Iris!

Anonymous, Germany - Jun 14, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
44% 44% 10% 10% 70% 70% 70% 70% 30% 30% 30% 40%

Our shower had mold growing all throughout the lines of grout. DEFINITELY had not been scrubbed in a very long time!

Anonymous, Usa - Jun 13, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
60% 60% 80% 80% 70% 70% 60% 60% 50% 50% 50% 40%

According to the price allocated, this hotel does not provide good facility and services. Very strange, the hotel is too old and does not have electric charging point (e.g. my laptops) for the common EU charging system with medium size power sockets. The breakfast was just okay.

Anonymous, Nepal - Jun 12, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

TUTTO BENE...staff gentile ed accurato... d

Fiorella, Italy - Jun 08, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
26% 26% 10% 10% 30% 30% 70% 70% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at. It's a hostel. The name is a lie. They are not a hotel.

This place has roaches and is the most disgusting place to stay.

Matthew, Usa - May 27, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
42% 42% 30% 30% 40% 40% 90% 90% 30% 30% 30% 20%

very dirty and unfriendly. horrible breakfast.

Anonymous, Austria - May 15, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
32% 32% 50% 50% 20% 20% 50% 50% 20% 20% 20% 20%

Room was freezing and no heating turned on when we asked - apparently it is controlled 'centrally'.

Nice to have room canal side but were kept awake both night due to loud talking outside the bar below.

Lobby area is really grotty and uninviting (even for a 2 star).

I would not like to stay at this place again.

Anonymous, England - Apr 26, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
64% 64% 50% 50% 60% 60% 90% 90% 60% 60% 60% 60%

I would have expected more at this price... It's a hotel afterall. But my hostel in Rome costing me just €14 per night is better than this.

The shower was big but the water is neither warm or cold. I caught a cold because of this. Mosquitoes all over the room, dead ones sticking on the walls and the sheets seem not to be so clean. Some sockets doesn't work. Breakfast was only bread and crisps, milk and coffee.

Should have rented an airbnb or sth else.

Wai yin, Hong kong - Apr 25, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
32% 32% 30% 30% 10% 10% 90% 90% 20% 20% 20% 10%

Horrible Experience. The man at the desk was extremely rude. They lost our keys on the first night - which made me feel as if someone was in the room. Felt unsafe. The man was also clueless and couldn't find our reservation. EVERYTHING ABOUT THE EXPERIENCE WAS HORRIBLE.

Anonymous, Usa - Mar 15, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
78% 78% 100% 100% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 60%

Decent size and comfortable room, Wifi worked well, hotel was clean in general. Bathroom was a bit of a squash with a shower that didn't really heat up. Was a bit put off when on arrival I couldn't pay my card- very rare in this day and age.

David, England - Jan 15, 2017

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

I found the staff very kind and helpful, the location was perfect. The only negative thing was that the hotel is fairly run down, which give a shabby impression.

Anonymous, Denmark - Oct 17, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Very nice staff. Took good care of us. Easy to communicate. Good value for money.

Per-olof, Sweden - Oct 05, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
34% 34% 10% 10% 50% 50% 90% 90% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Only one staff member (younger Italian gentleman) was polite ans helpful. Others were rude and should not be in the hospitality business. No hot water for shower, toilet did not flush properly, bugs everywhere, room not cleaned daily, and items stolen from room. Stay away don't be fooled by the cheaper (for Venice) price. The rooms are dilapidated and would require a large amount of repairs to even bring it close to their 2 star rating.

Anonymous, Canada - Oct 03, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
42% 42% 50% 50% 30% 30% 100% 100% 20% 20% 20% 10%

Got a different room than I had payed for. It looked like they used it for storing things.

Many small ANTS enjoyed my food.

Too expensive for the standard.

No sorries for the inconveniences.

Anonymous, Norway - Sep 17, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Very good price-performance. I had the superior room for 45 € the night. The staff was very friendly and the room fantastic. I would get here again. I had a beautiful trip to Venice and this hotel has done a lot for this. Grazie!!! :)

Doreen, Germany - Jul 25, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 80% 80% 100% 100% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 70%

We were skeptical about sharing a bathroom / shower with the rest of the guests, but it ended up not being that bad. The only downside to this hotel is that there are no elevators :( and we had to trek two 50lb suitcases up two flights of stairs. Staff was extremely friendly & helpful.

Anonymous, Usa - Jun 23, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
68% 68% 40% 40% 90% 90% 100% 100% 50% 50% 50% 60%

Torn bedspread. Mold in bathroom.

Rocky, Usa - Jun 23, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
44% 44% 50% 50% 60% 60% 80% 80% 20% 20% 20% 10%

B'fast in far campo absurd. Sheets never changed. Low ceiling in stairway, hit head for tall people. No wifi in room.

Anonymous, Usa - May 12, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Amazing staff totally love them!

The best of Italy.

Hanan, Qatar - May 10, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90%

Excellent value hotel in a superb area of Venice. Staff were very friendly.

Anonymous, England - May 04, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
94% 94% 80% 80% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Great staff, bit noisy, great location!

Rowan, Netherlands - Apr 22, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
72% 72% 70% 70% 70% 70% 80% 80% 70% 70% 70% 70%

We did have a bathroom, but there was no shower door, and we couldn't get the wifi from our room. Otherwise bed space and outlets were provided.

Karli, Usa - Mar 24, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

the staff is very kind and the location is quiet and close to the most important place.the room was clean and silent.

Anonymous, Italy - Feb 22, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
94% 94% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

We've booked hotel Iris but the gived is a Room in there annex B&B it was a great room Great stay

Anonymous, France - Dec 03, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
56% 56% 30% 30% 50% 50% 100% 100% 50% 50% 50% 50%

It has to be said that the location of this hotel is second to none & of course you get what you pay for. But the standard of rooms is almost criminally poor. To actually rent a room that doesnt have a secured shower head on the wall is unthinkable. When you pay extra money for a private bathroom and don't have fitable facilities it makes you wonder why bother. But as I say, you get what you pay for so everything I had I did expect.

Anonymous, Ireland - Nov 13, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
60% 60% 70% 70% 60% 60% 100% 100% 40% 40% 40% 30%

I stayed in this hotel six years ago but it has lost it's charm - Wifi only at reception, breakfast cancelled for good, and run-down furniture and facilities. I am sorry to say I was disappointed this time and cannot recommend it.

Martin, Germany - Oct 11, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
26% 26% 10% 10% 10% 10% 90% 90% 10% 10% 10% 10%

There was no hot water for the whole time we stayed there, wifi only works in the lobby. The place is falling apart, they need to paint the walls. The beds are as bad as in the army.

Barbara, England - Sep 13, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 70% 70% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 90%

air-conditionaing in first room did not work. Luckily, the staff was very nice, switched me to another room with a double bed (I booked a single room) with a/c. However, the toilet seat was broken, and the tap could not be closed tightly, so there was water dripping the whole night when I was sleeping, a it disturbing and not environmental friendly at all. I hope the hotel can improve the condition of the basic facility. but overall, it was nice, especially with the helpful staff.

Ka man, China - Aug 28, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
94% 94% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 100%

A perfect location, acceptable value.

Anonymous, Czech republic - Aug 03, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 80% 90%

Nice friendly staff, pleasant area. Couldn't get the air-conditioning to work, maybe it was my own incompetence. I was only there for a night so it wasn't an issue.

Gordon, Scotland - Jul 31, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 70% 70% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80%

You're mainly paying for the location, which is within walking distance of practically everything and just a block or two from the water taxi. Rooms are small and not the greatest decoration wise, but it's a place to lay your head at night. Good value for the location.

Danielle, Usa - Jul 30, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
66% 66% 60% 60% 40% 40% 80% 80% 50% 50% 50% 100%

Issues with the bathroom, no ac, staff was disgruntled

Anonymous, Usa - Jul 23, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

The reservation was not working propely, The side said "Your reservation was NOT succeeded and NO money is transferred from your account" I made a second reservation. And then I realized at my gmail the first reservation had went through and then later I realized that my account was debited twice.Please correct your systems.

Saija, Finland - Jul 17, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
52% 52% 80% 80% 20% 20% 90% 90% 50% 50% 50% 20%

Maybe it was because of the error made in part by the hotel management when it came to booking (the management runs a hostel and hotel and accidently put me in the hotel despite me having booked a hostel). I guess he wanted to make sure I got my moneys worth (which wasn't a lot). I was given the shittiest smallest and hottest single room in the hotel. The bed was uncomfortable, the outlets were oddly placed and the closet were broken and falling a part. The manager kept stressing how much of a favor he was doing me by giving me this single room. I was thankful but it got very annoying very fast. The location of this place is great but the management needs some change in attitude and the rooms need upgrading.

Anonymous, Usa - Jul 10, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Although I cancelled my booking within the required time, the hostel has taken a full two days payment from my VISA, as well as the cancellation fee. I have written twice to them and received no reply nor a refund. Please pass this on to them.

Leah, New zealand - Jul 03, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

The room with canal view was very good. Staff is friendly and you are just few minutes away from Rialto area with all the bars and restaurants! Highly recommended

Giovanni, Italy - Jun 28, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 90% 90% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

One of the front desk staff was very friendly. Another was extremely rude and unfriendly.

Anonymous, Canada - Jun 17, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
38% 38% 40% 40% 40% 40% 90% 90% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Room without window!!

I will not stay there again.

Anonymous, Austria - May 26, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
84% 84% 100% 100% 60% 60% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Clean and simple. Good for the price, though in Venice transportation is expensive so you need to calculate how you are going to get around into the price of your accommodations but I think this would still be a value.

Peter, Usa - May 15, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
38% 38% 30% 30% 40% 40% 100% 100% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Nothing works in the bedroom: No TV, shower door felt down all the time. Smell bad. The price is high for what you get.

Anonymous, Usa - May 04, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
72% 72% 90% 90% 60% 60% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 50%

The staff didnt accept credit card even though there were multiple signs saying they did. Also we didnt have towels, had yl ask for them. The noise at night is too much.

Anonymous, Costa rica - Apr 07, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
66% 66% 60% 60% 40% 40% 100% 100% 60% 60% 60% 70%

It´s good located and the staff can deal with different kinds of situation.

Anonymous, Brazil - Mar 05, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 70% 70% 100% 100% 90% 90% 70% 70% 70% 100%

We had a nice 2 nights staying here. The room was quite large and clean. The wifi didn't reach our room (2nd floor), but worked perfectly in the lobby. The price was high for what it is, but that's expected in Venice. We had a pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel.

Anonymous, Australia - Nov 24, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 70%

Aside from the front desk area smelling of sewage, I would say this was an all-around nice place for the price. The room furniture could have been set up a little better (the giant wardrobe in our room got in the way of the bathroom door and banged on it loudly).

Angela, Usa - Nov 15, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
72% 72% 50% 50% 70% 70% 90% 90% 70% 70% 70% 80%

For a couple of nights amazing location and nice staff!

Anonymous, Netherlands - Nov 08, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
48% 48% 50% 50% 50% 50% 80% 80% 40% 40% 40% 20%

The hotel was well located and clean.

we thought that the facilies were very basic and not as represented in the photos on the website

Anonymous, England - Nov 06, 2014

Hostels
Tours

ARE YOU AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT? Join our exclusive free discount program! Pay less, travel longer and party more! Tell me more » Check all Erasmus deals now! »

Free nights in Venice!

It's true! No joke, no game, no lottery - HostelsClub is giving away free nights and weekends in Venice.

Book at least 5 nights in any destination, and get a voucher for a free night accommodation for two in Venice!

Or enjoy a free weekend in Venice, as our loyal customer, by making five bookings (at least 2 nights each) with HostelsClub!

> read more

group booking special offers

Travelling in a group? Click on the link below to get the list of hostels that accept reservations for 10 or more guests. Use the search form to check availability and book online. If you like, feel free to contact us at groups@hostelsclub.com, we will help you find the best offer for your group.

> read more

Don't miss our offers!

Register your email to receive our monthly newsletter with discounts, special offers and competitions!