Sign Up Now - My Club MY CLUB ()
Need help? Call us: +39 041 2413870
Choose language

Casa El Mirador reviews - our customers' opinion on Casa El Mirador Hostel, Havana

Loading map...

Casa El Mirador Hostel in Havana

Casa El Mirador 

Category: Hostel

Address: San Rafael 752, 2nd floor, between Oquendo & Marques González, Centro Habana - Havana, Cuba

Starting from: 15.60 EUR

(indicative price per person, per night)

5% discount for HostelsClub.com Membership Card holders

Customer rating

94% 94%

BOOK

LATEST REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL

[reviews in all languages]

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100%

We had very pleasant and enjoyable stay at Casa El Mirador. For every recommendation!

Tijana, Serbia - Dec 23, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Super hosts. Genuine with recommendations based on our best interest not profit. Kind and friendly with the perfect balance between advice on an as-need basis and independent living in their home. They also go the extra mile with little requests without extra charges eg medicine or storing baggage whilst travelling in the countryside. The property's main room and balcony are a delight in allowing you to look over the street and cool down in the breeze. Likewise San Rafael is a great street as it's a straight line to the tourist attractions but also easy walking distance to other popular quarters. Safe and friendly area with plenty of interesting street life to observe. Thank you for a brilliant time!

Hanna, Wales - Jul 15, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 100% 100% 100% 100% 70% 70% 90% 90% 90% 100%

A really lovely house and experience. Although getting up a few flights of narrow stairs with two suitcases proved a bit of a challenge, the stay was completely worth it! Very clean room with en suite and breakfast was very pleasing and really set us up for the day. We were given our own key so could come and go as we pleased, although in order to enter into the actual apartment itself (and not just the building) we did have to knock on the door or ask the neighbour for a key.

Julio provided us with useful information and his staff were very kind and we're happy to help with any problems or concerns. For example, we stayed in Cuba for six nights, three of which were spent in Casa el Mirador in Havana, and we then continued to the center of the island. We didn't want to take all of our cases with us and instead just wanted to pack lightly, therefore we explained the situation to Julio and he was happy for us to leave out luggage in the house whilst we travelled and we then returned to Havana after our trip in order to catch a flight from Jose Martí airport. This saved us a lot of hassle with transporting luggage.

Overall a very pleasant experience which my friend and I would highly recommend to anyone hoping to visit Havana.

Rebecca jane, England - May 23, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
86% 86% 90% 90% 100% 100% 60% 60% 80% 80% 80% 100%

Really good and safe,not so close to old town but by the sea, high standard for cuba.

Anonymous, Ireland - May 11, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Great, room with balcony. Perfect location for getting around Havana and you really felt like you were in the hub of it.

Anonymous, England - May 04, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Best part of our Havana experience was staying with Julio and Isabel! They have a warm and welcoming family. Beautiful people!

Joshua, Canada - Apr 21, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 90% 90% 90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Very honest ppl, one of us forgot their mobilephone which we picked up one week later. Big thanks for that.

Anonymous, Finland - Feb 28, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

The host speaks perfect english and helped us all vacation long with finding other accommodations. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable.

Anonymous, Netherlands - Jan 30, 2016

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
94% 94% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 100%

The house is very nice, old - classic, very confortable, located in the real old Havana, where Cubans live, not exactly in the main tourist area, but still not far from there walking. Julio is a very nice person who give us all the information we needed.

Gonzalo, Chile - Dec 27, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100%

Great host and information during casa period in Cuba. We learn some useful information from them. Nice place but little far away from old town area.

Yun , Taiwan - Aug 23, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100%

The case is definitely the best choice you can get in Havana. The owner is the friendliest and the most helpful one that I have ever met in Cuba. We have talked a lot about the status quo of Cuba and understand more deeply about it.

Huihsin, Taiwan - Jul 20, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Havana. I highly recommend it. The accommodations are clean and confortable. The rooms have refreshing balconies. The breakfast is delicious! But the best thing about El Mirador is the reception. Julio and Isabel, the owners of the house, are so welcoming and thoughtful! Just for you to have an idea, when our bus to Trinidad was more than three hours late I didn't know what to do, so I called Julio. He left work and went to the place where the bus should pick us just to help us out. It was incredibly kind of him to do that.

You should definitely stay at El Mirador!

Fabiana, Brazil - Jul 13, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 90% 90% 100% 100% 70% 70% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Julio is a very nice host. For some reasons he did not receive my room reservation but he endeavoured to find a nearby casa for me. I stayed in his place on the second night and his place was beautiful with a good living room. Impeccable breakfast.

Anonymous, China - May 13, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

The doctor family is very helpful. The lady even helped me to fix my broken backpack. A nice room with good street view from balcony. Highly recommend.

Derek sung kee, Hong kong - Feb 28, 2015

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Excellent value for money. Lovely family

Alan and Theresa

Theresa, Scotland - Dec 06, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
50% 50% 60% 60% 10% 10% 60% 60% 60% 60% 60% 60%

6 out of 10 for everything (except staff) as I cannot judge the place. When I got there I was told that "the previous guest had lost their passport and could not leave, so I had to stay in a different place". It is normal in Cuba for one place to have a website and re-direct people to different houses, but I'd have preferred the owners had been honest about this and had let me know in advance. They also lied to the owner of the place I was sent to, saying I had to pay 10% less because of a discount (in reality it was because they had already received the 10% deposit).

Francesco, Italy - Nov 26, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Julio and Isabel our hosts were fantastic! Very friendly and helpful with any information (directions, what to do, where to book buses, food etc). The room was very spacious with balcony and private bathroom and air con which made it very comfortable.

We were 15 mins walk from Parque Central and from Vedado area and it was easy to get to the old town.

Highly recommend and would stay again!

Amy, Australia - May 06, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
94% 94% 100% 100% 100% 100% 70% 70% 100% 100% 100% 100%

An excellent base to visit Habana. The family is great, the room is very comfortable and the breakfast was tastey!

I would highly recommend this casa, plus you will support a Cuban family with your experience.

Eli, New zealand - Jan 25, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100%

A great 'Casa Particular' in the centre of Havana (a bit noisy from the street but what else do you expect from a bustling city?) The hosts are amazing - local knowledge and help,food if you want it and privacy when you need it. I'd recommend it to anyone travelling to Havana.

Katryna, England - Jul 22, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

It was the best place we have stayed in Havanna. We had our incoming flight due to bad weather conditions a day later. Although our host was fully booked he arranged for us an alternaitve night. We returned to Havanna for the last night a stayed there. Very nice host, I had my best chat experience during our entire stay in the country. The location is perfecet and there is also a lovely view. Thank you!

Kornel, Hungary - Apr 09, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
96% 96% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100%

Huge hospitality, very nice and helpful people, fab breakfasts. I will recommend this " casa"

Dobroslawa, Poland - Feb 21, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

El Mirador was the best "casa particular" we stayed at during our 20 days in Cuba. The family was extremely welcoming and made us feel at home. The place was very clean and once you left the house, you were in the midst of old Havana in 2 minutes.

Fabio, Switzerland - Aug 20, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 100% 100% 100% 100% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Julio spoke good English and gave some good advice about where to go, getting taxis (specify routes and fares) etc. The breakfasts were great - their coffee was the best in Cuba. It was 15-20 minutes walk to the main centre, various routes you can take and you get a slice of Havana life on route. Shops and a fruit and veg market nearby.

Jonathan, England - Apr 25, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 90% 90% 100% 100% 60% 60% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Julio and Isabel are really adorable and caring persons. Helped us a lot in all our queries and were always available.

The place is nice and in good condition given Cuban standards.

Daniela, Italy - Mar 12, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 100% 100% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

With Julio and Isabell we found really nice and helpful hostal owner. We never had a feeling to stay somewhere in the world. I had a feeling to come home. They offered a nice room and little bath with new air conditioning now. My only chance is to recommend this hostel.

Claus, Germany - Dec 04, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

Casa El Mirador was fantastic! Julio and Isabel are very very kindly and friendly people...very funny and they know a lot of things about the city and about Cuba...Isabel is a wonderful cooker!Her lobster is something never eaten before!They also have a lot of contacts for other casas particulares all over the island!Speaking with them is interesting,they're informed about everything!The house is large,with a balcony and a living room...near the city centre,just 10 minutes walk in calle San Rafael!wonderful Cuba with Julio and Isabel...I hope to come back there!

Giulia, Italy - Sep 01, 2011

Hostels
Tours

ARE YOU AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT? Join our exclusive free discount program! Pay less, travel longer and party more! Tell me more » Check all Erasmus deals now! »

Free nights in Venice!

It's true! No joke, no game, no lottery - HostelsClub is giving away free nights and weekends in Venice.

Book at least 5 nights in any destination, and get a voucher for a free night accommodation for two in Venice!

Or enjoy a free weekend in Venice, as our loyal customer, by making five bookings (at least 2 nights each) with HostelsClub!

> read more

group booking special offers

Travelling in a group? Click on the link below to get the list of hostels that accept reservations for 10 or more guests. Use the search form to check availability and book online. If you like, feel free to contact us at groups@hostelsclub.com, we will help you find the best offer for your group.

> read more

Don't miss our offers!

Register your email to receive our monthly newsletter with discounts, special offers and competitions!