Sign Up Now - My Club MY CLUB ()
Need help? Call us: +39 041 2433277
Choose language

Alessandro Downtown reviews - our customers' opinion on Alessandro Downtown Hostel, Rome

Loading map...

Alessandro Downtown Hostel in Rome

Alessandro Downtown 

Category: Hostel

Address: Via C. Cattaneo 23 - Rome, Italy

Starting from: 24.37 EUR

(indicative price per person, per night)

Customer rating

87% 87%

BOOK

LATEST REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL

[reviews in all languages]

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

The Location is Perfect, so close to train station. The facility is well, and you can print documents. The room is clean. Good Price. The staffs are nice and helpful.

Anonymous, Taiwan - Dec 12, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 90% 90% 70% 70% 70% 80%

The rooms are ok and they have a private bathroom with hair dryers and all you need. You can use as well the locker but you need to have your own lock. The breakfast costs 4 euros and it's not worth it, the kind of ham is thick and a bit disgusting and they just have white bread so i recommend you to buy your breakfast in the supermarket. It's very close from the train station, just 3min walking and quite easy to find. The staff is very relaxed and helfull and they have free maps on the reception and information tours in case you need. The wi-fi is very bad because i was in the 4th floor but its the reception it works very well. You can leave your bag after the check-out and with the payment you need to give them 5 euros for the key (you got the money back after you leave)

Rita, Portugal - Apr 23, 2014

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Good place in city center well organised and clean

godd breakfast

Antonin, France - Aug 12, 2013

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

It was a great pleasure to stay in Downtown Hostel during my visit in Rome. I arrived at Rome around midnight. But, I was able to check in and settle down very quickly. Ibam, as one of the staffs, was very helpful in that and throughout my stay.

Kai ling, Malaysia - Aug 31, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Air conditioning sucks, its only on from 7pm til 4am, and only is on for spurts at a time. I ended up sleeping on the floor in front of the AC.

Gregory , Usa - Jul 02, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 80% 80% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

This was the last hostel I stayed at on my backpacking journey.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There are hairdryers included int he bathroom and internet is free.

So it is pretty huge, and pretty famous, so there are A LOT of people here. But they have plenty of bathrooms and showers that are never all full. That get cleaned every day at 3. So that is really nice.

The rooms are nice and clean. Just make sure you know check in is at 3 pm so that you can plan accordingly.

All of the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They have a few south Asian guys that work from midnight to 7 am that are really sweet and make you feel very comfortable.

The price is good for what you are getting. It is only a 3 minute walk to the metro station. That helps a lot while in Rome. And if you want to walk, it is in a fairly good location. The city is not that hard to walk through and you will always find astounding buildings while walking that are not on the tourist maps or in the guides.

And if you are interested in going out, they host a pub crawl. It is organized for you, so if you are traveling alone or even with people, it is a great chance to get to know fellow travelers from around the world.

they have a breakfast buffet (3 euros) from 7:30 to 10. It is not a 5 star buffet, but you get unlimited toast, jam, cereal, coffe, milk, tea, juice, fresh fruit, ham, and cheese.

They have a brown bag lunch that you can buy. This is the first hostel I have seen that does this. It is a good option for a busy day.

And they have free pasta every tuesday, thursday, friday, saturday. Free pasta is good pasta.

I highly recommended staying here.

Kavita, Usa - Jun 05, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

good location,perfect service! I like this hostel!

Ruiqi, China - Jan 29, 2012

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 70% 70% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Well i have to say: Thank You so much Cintia, you were so kind, and you helped me a lot when i most needed!!But i have to say to the hostel,your cleaning stuff, should clean also behond beds,balls of dust?! And the wifi acess 1 euro one hour?...well, never forget, hostels are made to be "cheaper"!

Alexandre, Portugal - Dec 01, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 80% 80% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Very convenient location, 3 min by walk to main train station. And they provide breakfast and pizza for dinner, that made me save some money for gelato.

Kloud, Hong kong - Oct 15, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Good location.

Lluvia, China - Oct 02, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

staying in this hostel have been a good experience, close to everywhere, professional stuff

Andrejs, Latvia - Sep 07, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
78% 78% 80% 80% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Overall, the hostel was quite good. The rooms and washrooms were clean, the location good, and the staff relatively friendly. I suggest, however, to include some basic fruit in your breakfast (apples, bananas).

Karin, Canada - Jun 28, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 60% 60% 90% 90% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80%

come with a big lock coz they sell a tiny lock for the lockers which is impossible to fit it in. location is good, felt safe in the area, really close to termini!

Yael, Israel - Apr 19, 2011

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90%

all staffs are very helpful,the room was good too.I'll be back here again:))

Wacharin, Thailand - Dec 31, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

It was a pleasant stay indeed, and I really liked neet customers service and dinner and breakfast offer. The location was great! I would like to come back if I ever visit Rome again. Thanks a lot!!!!!

Erika, Japan - Dec 25, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Value for money to have free pasta dinner and breadfast though the portion of pasta may not be enough for a guy. There is a lift in the building and overall facilities are ok. Internet service is always full.

Lai ying, Hong kong - Jun 24, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
88% 88% 80% 80% 80% 80% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Great hostel - has everything you could want: nice rooms and bathrooms, brilliant central location, free pasta for dinner was amazing. But breakfast could be improved as a bread roll and jam isn't much of a breakfast. Would definitely stay here again though and would recommend to all travellers!

Casey, New zealand - May 11, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

The hostel is very funny, the atendins are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very simple, but is enought satisfactory

Priscila, Brazil - Apr 26, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Nice place, lots of space, facilities clean, we enjoyed it.

Gary, Usa - Mar 15, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
90% 90% 80% 80% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Great place, didn't have too much trouble sleeping either.

Ryan, Usa - Mar 15, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

The quality and the price are great, but the breakfast is not so good. Very well located. The staffs are very friendly. It's a good place to meet travelers.

Felipe, Brazil - Feb 28, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 70% 70% 80% 80% 90% 90% 80% 80% 80% 80%

good position, nice staff and very good ambiance but poor breakfast,

Ana, Spain - Jan 05, 2010

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
82% 82% 90% 90% 90% 90% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Very friendly and helpful staff, and a clean and fun hostel.

Dan, New zealand - Jun 03, 2009

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

needs air conditioners during the summer

Fausto, Brazil - Jul 12, 2008

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

Love the hostel: the quality and the price are great, it is very near Termini. It's very clean and the staff is great! The breakfast is not very interesting and the kitchen is lacking some accesories but I would reccomend the hostel and I would return.

Sophia, Spain - Apr 04, 2008

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
98% 98% 90% 90% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

It's a good hostel, just to open the windows cause its really hot in summer and you need air... :(

Guillermo, Mexico - Aug 01, 2007

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
78% 78% 70% 70% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%

A nice hostel in a nice position, but too many americans for a finnish taste ;)

Tuukka, Finland - Oct 29, 2006

overall rating cleanliness staff location value recommended
92% 92% 90% 90% 90% 90% 100% 100% 90% 90% 90% 90%

Thank you very much. Again Rome=again Alessandro Downtown.

Lenka, Slovakia - Apr 03, 2006

Hostels
Tours

ARE YOU AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT? Join our exclusive free discount program! Pay less, travel longer and party more! Tell me more » Check all Erasmus deals now! »

Free nights in Venice!

It's true! No joke, no game, no lottery - HostelsClub is giving away free nights and weekends in Venice.

Book at least 5 nights in any destination, and get a voucher for a free night accommodation for two in Venice!

Or enjoy a free weekend in Venice, as our loyal customer, by making five bookings (at least 2 nights each) with HostelsClub!

> read more

group booking special offers

Travelling in a group? Click on the link below to get the list of hostels that accept reservations for 10 or more guests. Use the search form to check availability and book online. If you like, feel free to contact us at groups@hostelsclub.com, we will help you find the best offer for your group.

> read more

Don't miss our offers!

Register your email to receive our monthly newsletter with discounts, special offers and competitions!